This widow needs help about consignment problem.

PDA

Erica M.
April 16, 2012, 11:03 PM
:cuss:

If you enjoyed reading about "This widow needs help about consignment problem." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
TurtlePhish
April 16, 2012, 11:05 PM
If the buyer paid in full already they should have given you your part of the money. Sounds like the shop is screwing around with you. I see no reason for them to hold the money until he picks up the gun.

Sorry for your loss.

Welcome to THR.

Erica M.
April 16, 2012, 11:08 PM

Rail Driver
April 16, 2012, 11:11 PM
I'd explain to the gun shop owner that if you don't get your money PDQ, you'll be consulting an attorney, the BATFE and the police. The way it stands now, the gun shop has essentially stolen your pistol. The police and ATF don't take kindly to things like that.

(Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer (just a law student), and I don't know where you are or what the laws in your jurisdiction are so my advice is worth what you paid for it.)

ApacheCoTodd
April 16, 2012, 11:12 PM
What county are you in? Trust me on this... The county attorney's office is your friend on issues, fraud.
The Sheriff's dept is your friend on issues, theft.

I want to be VERY clear on this. I am NOT saying that this is or is necessarily bordering on theft but theft is the perspective you want them (the shop) to understand that you may be seeing this from.

You had an item, they took the item, they sold the item, they received full payment for the item, you have no money for the item. All the weird consignment particulars aside - what do you call that scenario if those weird particulars are not a part of a contract between you and them?

Fremmer
April 16, 2012, 11:22 PM
The lawyer will cost more than the gun is worth.
give the shop 7 days to complete the transfer or you get the gun back and walk.
You might be able to salvage the deal yet.