Cobra Patriot .45 ACP Report

PDA

MurrayNevada
February 17, 2004, 10:34 PM
Cobra Patriot .45 ACP Report

I want to begin by saying that I am a novice compared to many of you folks. The below review is just my laymans impressions of this pistol.

I received my Cobra Patriot .45 yesterday morning.

Out of the Box:
The Patriot, in the past, was produced by Republic Arms. Republic Arms was purchased by Cobra Enterprises of Salt Lake City and they now produce the Patriot .45. While awaiting the arrival of my Patriot I read everything I could about the gun including subscribing to the Yahoo Republic Arms Patriot .45 newsgroup:
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/RepublicArmsPatriot45/

Due to my reading about the Republic Arms version of the Patriot I was expecting a much less refined pistol than the Cobra Enterprises model I received. The Patriot was much more “finished” than were my P-11, P-32, P3AT, and P-40 Kel-Tecs. None of the machine marks were present inside or outside the stainless steel slide. There were also no machine marks on the stainless steel barrel including the feed ramp. The frame is all polymer.

Fluff and Buff:
I did a Kel-Tec like F&B. The trigger pull is heavier and rougher than the Kel-Tecs and I did some F&B on the striker assembly components which somewhat helped the trigger roughness.

Range:
I went to the range this morning with 50 rounds of Win White Box FMJ (USA45AVP) and 50 rounds of Win White Box JHP (USA45JHP). The Patriot .45 is the first self loading pistol that I have fired the first 100 rounds through, without any malfunctions, in quite a while. This includes a recently purchased Kahr and Glock. POA equaled POI at 7 yards (I limited the first range session to 100 rds at 7 yards). The trigger lost some additional “roughness" during these first 100 rounds.