About private sell a gun in Virginia

PDA

efeng9622
June 10, 2012, 09:22 AM
I sold my Remington 597 .22 rifle yesterday in a Gun show. He isn't a gun dealer or gun store's boss but looks like pretty good person. I asked him to give me a receipt. He just wrote on a blank paper, put his name, date, gun's model , serials # , price. his phone number. I asked him to show me the drive license and put the number there. he hesitated a whole but eventually put there because I insisted. I told him this is my first time to do private sell and I don't know if I did every thing was legal. He said in Virginia it is legal even he doesn't give to me any paper as long as I agree. I give to him the gun and he give to me money . that's it. I just want to double check that.

Thanks!

If you enjoyed reading about "About private sell a gun in Virginia" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Apple a Day
June 10, 2012, 10:22 AM
No paperwork required in Virginia for a private sale.
God bless the Commonwealth.

Jaxondog
June 10, 2012, 10:32 AM
Don't tell the Democrat's :D

brickeyee
June 10, 2012, 12:41 PM
And we have a far lower crime rate than Washingtoon and Maryland.

NavyLCDR
June 10, 2012, 01:25 PM
I asked him to show me the drive license and put the number there. he hesitated a whole

Personally, I would have called off the deal. If I walked up to you on the street and asked to copy information from your driver's license, would you let me? Just because I am buying a gun from you makes you no less of a stranger to me than the random guy walking up to me on the street. Want to SEE my driver's license to verify my state of residence and age? Sure, no problem. Copy it or the information on it? Nope.