.257 reloading help

PDA

Scott-NC
June 11, 2012, 03:43 PM
I'm new to reloading. I have purchased a used Dillon 550b setup with lots of extra stuff. For example I have the powder measurer, tool head, etc.

I don't see a .257 caliber conversion kit on the Dillon site. Probably because it is not listed that way- I know the .257 roberts is a necked down something else.... I don't see the dies listed either.

When I look for bullets I see so dag gone many options I end up not ordering anything.

Please offer some specific help. Namely
1) Give me a link to the dies I need.
2) Give me a link to the Cal conversion kit I need.
3) Give me a link to some light bullets that would be good for varmit. 60gr?? Something like that? (I know this is subject to interpretion- tell me what you would get)
4) Give me a link to the primers I need.
5) and Where the heck do I find brass? I don't really mean where to find cheaply- I just mean where to find. Lots of places have it listed- higher qty's out of stock. I'm looking for a few hundred or up to 500.

Note: I have a post in the WTB section. I don't think this is a duplicate, here I am asking for "which stuff" I want. In the other post I'm asking if anyone wants to sell it to me. If considered a dup- my apologies.

I know I need to do some homework to put it all together. I have someone to help me with that but I am looking for some advice assembling the parts so when he comes over to help I have what I need.

Thanks in advance.
Scott

If you enjoyed reading about ".257 reloading help" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Zeke/PA
June 11, 2012, 03:55 PM
dillonprecision.com
You should find what you need.
In any case don't be afraid to call Dillon as their customer service cannot be beat.

Steve H
June 11, 2012, 04:04 PM
Dillon Part # is 20147 for the 550B in 257 Roberts

Steve H
June 11, 2012, 04:06 PM
screen capture

Scott-NC
June 11, 2012, 10:23 PM