Primer ignites in kinetic puller

PDA

Ken13113
June 13, 2012, 11:45 PM
Earlier tonight I was loading some 45's and had a couple of errors that I needed to correct. I loaded the puller and on the third hit the primer pops! The primer was no longer in the pocket, the bullet was pulled and contained in the puller along with the powder. I am glad that the powder was not ignited and that I still have all the parts I started the day with. I was wondering if this has happened to any one else before? The reason for the puller was the primer was not fully seated in the pocket. Is it possible that the primer was able to move enough to activate it? I am fairly new to reloading and any advice would be appreciated.
Also, I have been a long time lurker and have enjoyed and learned a bunch from you guys already, THANKS!
-Ken

If you enjoyed reading about "Primer ignites in kinetic puller" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
zxcvbob
June 13, 2012, 11:51 PM
Were you using the puller's shellholder or did you use a reloading shellholder? I don't remember why it makes a difference. (Maybe it doesn't unless the primer goes off, then the cartridge is ejected vs. the puller blowing up if the powder ignites)

jmorris
June 14, 2012, 12:00 AM
This is a new one for me. Never have known anything like it, approaching 30 years of reloading and knowing many others with even more experience than I.

I have to wonder how you didn't ignite the powder. Did you seat a primer on top of a spent primer?

Ken13113
June 14, 2012, 12:17 AM