Can anyone identify this spider?

PDA

Feanor
June 15, 2012, 09:20 PM
I was setting up a camera trap in the Chequemagon national forest when I happened upon this very very large spider. It was obviously calling the tree I was looking to use home. I took several images and went looking elsewhere.

It was huge, easily the largest spider I've ever come across at this northern latitude, for instance, its sac, was about the size of a half dollar! Overall, its size was equal to that of my hand, including fingers!

I have no experience with such critters, though it is IMO not a wolf spider, those do not venture into trees. Any ideas, or a concrete identification would be appreciated. I put it here in hunting as it appeared to me the best possible place for the topic.

If you enjoyed reading about "Can anyone identify this spider?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
dc.fireman
June 15, 2012, 09:28 PM
Appears to be a freshly molted Carolina Wolf Spider?

rcmodel
June 15, 2012, 09:33 PM
It would be a Wolf Spider around these parts.

Not necessarily completely harmless but almost.
But much much better then a Black Recluse or Black Widow bite.

They seem to be more afraid of me then I am of them.

And thats going way out there on trust on the spiders part!!

rc

Cosmoline
June 15, 2012, 09:42 PM
Looks like a classic wolf spider to me. There are a gagillion varieties of them, but they're all pretty much the same beast. Forward eyes, fast strong legs, stalk and sprint attack, limited web use. Some do hunt in trees. Some hunt in my bathroom. One was hunting in my tea kettle once, believe it or not.

Feanor
June 15, 2012, 11:44 PM