If I use a quick release attachment....


PDA






BigShep85
June 17, 2012, 10:02 PM
when it is removed (scope on the quick release mount attachment) from my AR for closer shots with iron sights, it seems that I would need to resight it. Is this the case or does it re-attach to the old zero it had before removed?

Sorry if this is common knowledge, I have never used scope and just now getting into the field of scope hunting.

If you enjoyed reading about "If I use a quick release attachment...." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
taliv
June 17, 2012, 10:25 PM
depends on the mount. some are more reliable than others.

Gtimothy
June 17, 2012, 10:41 PM
This is what I use..... AMERICAN DEFENSE AD-RECON SCOPE MOUNT

Always take it off after a range trip and when I put it back on it returns to zero. A bit expensive but worth it!

TonyAngel
June 18, 2012, 01:41 AM
American Defense, LaRue, Bobro, etc. will put you back pretty close to where you were as long as you put the scope back in the same place.

madcratebuilder
June 18, 2012, 07:00 AM
Warne Maxima QD rings have a square stainless steel recoil control key. This ensures a positive recoil engagement surface across the full width and depth of the recoil slot in the base. The recoil control key guarantees the position of the rings will not shift or move under recoil and also protects against peening or swaging when mounted on aluminum bases. Warne guarantees accuracy of within 1/1000th of an inch when removing and reattaching the optics.

The above is from Warne's web site. I have two sets, one on a Grendel and one set on a 7.62 AR-10. They return to zero like they were never removed.

adelbridge
June 18, 2012, 01:55 PM
my experience is about a 1" shift each time a scope is removed or reattached. I have been told that the thickness of a piece of paper can be 4 moa

jmr40
June 18, 2012, 02:18 PM
I have used Leupold QD mounts with no measurable difference on an AR. I've also used old Weaver mounts for years with no measurable differnce on many different hunting rifles. I've been known to have 2 different scopes zeroed for the same rifle. Something with a very low powered magnificaton and a 2nd more powerful scope.

It might not have been close enough to win in a serious target match, but for a hunting rifle or AR's needs I've never been able to tell any difference when re-mounting a scope. Just use care and place the mounts back into the correct slot on a rail and move the mounts as far forward as possible in the slots when mounting each time before you tighten everything down.

RyeDaddy
June 18, 2012, 05:03 PM
I use the ADM Recon mount also. Its great, I've had the scope on and off my AR-10 many times and it never shifts more than .5 MOA, usually less. I can live with that, i don't have the adjustment torqued way down, just barely tight enough to hold zero when firing. This makes it easier to get off quickly, if I tightened it down more it would probably shift less.

Robert101
June 18, 2012, 05:12 PM
I use a Nikon 223 one piece 20 MOA base. My experience is as little as 2" and as much as 3 feet. I'm going through the evaluation now to see if it is more the mount or me. Next trip should give me a good indication.

rcmodel
June 18, 2012, 05:23 PM
I have never used scope and just now getting into the field of scope hunting.Unless you go badly way too much power on the scope?

Once you sight it in and get used to shooting with it, you will never use the iron sights again, unless a truck jumps on the scope and breaks it.

Go with a low to medium power variable scope, and all you need to do is dial down the power for close shots and dial it back up for long shots.

I have had a scope on my AR for years and never ever need to take it off.

rc

jmorris
June 19, 2012, 10:56 AM
I quite often swap scopes around on DIFFERENT AR's and the zero is close enough to be perfectly useable. No problem at all with the rings and mounts I use on the same rifle.

kcshooter
June 19, 2012, 11:22 AM
I can tell you with experience that a LaRue 1 piece mount will not require rezeroing.
There are others, too.

-v-
June 19, 2012, 02:28 PM
Have an ADM mount for my aimpoint. Each time I remove it I check it versus my BUIS, and I have never seen it shift.

What others have said, ADM, LaRue, or Bobro all make great mounts that as long as you put them back where they were, will return to zero each time. Down side is they tend to be not cheap. But, buy once cry once, and you can usually get most of the value back out of them if you sell them.

Same thing with my BP-02 mount on my AK. Cam that sucker down, and its always back where it was.

Flintknapper
June 19, 2012, 03:28 PM
I can tell you with experience that a LaRue 1 piece mount will not require rezeroing.

^^^^^^^^^ This has been my experience as well. As long as you put it back in the same position and don't re-adjust the tension mechanism, it has never lost zero.

If you enjoyed reading about "If I use a quick release attachment...." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!