Cast vs non-cast bullets

PDA

Blackfox893
June 26, 2012, 11:33 PM
I have thought about casting my own bullets eventually, but I have a few questions:

Can cast bullets handle high velocities that regular bullets can?

What are cheap sources of lead. Wheel weights or what?

Are there spitzer style cast bullet molds available?

If you enjoyed reading about "Cast vs non-cast bullets" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
texas chase
June 26, 2012, 11:43 PM
I've started casting in the last few years but only for low velocity pistol bullets so far. You definitely cannot push cast bullets as fast copper jacketed bullets but you can do a lot. Especially with gas checks. I'm sure there will be some experience thrown in here in a bit...

Blackfox893
June 26, 2012, 11:49 PM
I totally forgot about those. I am still new to the cast bullet subjects and I forget it has stuff like that.

armoredman
June 27, 2012, 01:28 AM
First, absolute BEST source of info is castboolits.gunloads.com. Great guys, helped me out a lot.
Second, cast doesn't go as fast as jacketed, no go. However, cast loads can be made to go decent velocities if you want to make hunting loads, other wise load to recommended speeds for paper punching.

Wheel weights are starting to dry up, ecoterrorists have made it a crusade to get rid of them, saying they are ruining the water supply when they fall off a car, and rain takes the lead into the ground. Also, wheel weights come in two types, clip and stick on - the stick on tend to be dead soft lead, really suitable for muzzle loader stuff only. Clips on are harder and better all around. You can still get wheel weight ingots from individuals at CB, which is what I usually do - I don't smelt.