How long do you tumble your brass?

PDA

Keeperfaith
August 29, 2012, 10:43 PM
I was wondering whats the average amount of time any of you experienced reloaders tumble your brass?

Im using crushed walnut, a cap full of Nu-Finish and a couple of used dryer sheets.

I've left my brass tumbling for 24hrs and it comes out nice and shiney. However I've not checked on my brass every hour on the hour to find out if it only needs 2, 3, 4 or 10 hrs in the tumbler.

Thanks in advance,

Steve

PS: Im new to reloading, I had a bunch of brass I tumbled about a year ago, its been stored in plastic bags and the bags in ammo cans. This brass has a bright almost golden color to it. The brass I tumbled today is nice and shiny but more pale than the older brass I have. Is that somthing that happens over time or do I need to tumble my latest batch of brass longer (than 24 hrs) to get the shiny golden yellow look?

If you enjoyed reading about "How long do you tumble your brass?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
NWcityguy2
August 29, 2012, 10:51 PM
I tumble mine for an hour or more. But I don't really care if it is shiny, just clean.

newfalguy101
August 29, 2012, 10:53 PM
Till I remember the tumbler is running :neener:

Couple three hours unless its really nasty brass, then bout twice that long

PlusP
August 29, 2012, 10:56 PM
walnut cleans and leaves a dull finish check on it after 3hrs and then corn cob will shine it up in less than an hour .. I also use corn cob to remove the lube on the finished rounds for 15 mins

cfullgraf
August 29, 2012, 11:06 PM
Overnight.

When I am finished for the evening, I turn the tumbler on. I shut it off in the morning after I rise. I at least dump the tumbler to separate the brass from he media. Then process it at another time if I do not have time first thing.

fguffey
August 29, 2012, 11:07 PM