Pistol Powder Blending?

PDA

bmanowske@live.com
September 5, 2012, 09:49 AM
I have always heard of NEVER doing this!
An aquantance blew up his DE 50AE, after reloading with some sort of blend of powder! Said a friend of a friend, reloads .44 mag with it and works fine so he tried it! Bent and cracked the slide frame, and broke the gas piston, plus bent the recoil spring rods on both sides. My question, since I'm a bit new to reloading, am I wrong, and is this a stupid idea, or is this a practice of developing expermental loads?
One more thing, He claims Magnum Reserch can repair his gun without replacing the gun! What do ya'll think?

If you enjoyed reading about "Pistol Powder Blending?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
NeuseRvrRat
September 5, 2012, 09:54 AM
i think darwin almost got him another one

MtnCreek
September 5, 2012, 10:16 AM
He claims Magnum Reserch can repair his gun without replacing the gun! What do ya'll think?
I think he needs to hang the RoboCop gun, as is, over his reloading bench as a reminder that he's an idiot.

bmanowske@live.com
September 5, 2012, 10:18 AM
Thats kinda what I was thinking!

mgmorden
September 5, 2012, 10:21 AM
Mixing powders is a no-no. Just don't do it. Seriously look at the list of currently available powders - what is it exactly that you're looking for that that absolutely massive list WON'T do, and you think a blended powder will?

jaguarxk120
September 5, 2012, 10:35 AM
Blended powder work's great!! Just take what's left over from some old cans, mix well ---- then throw the mix on the lawn.

Other wise loading into cartridges is for sure Darwin award area.

bmanowske@live.com
September 5, 2012, 10:40 AM