Can the same dies be used for 380 acp and 9mm?


PDA






rajb123
September 11, 2012, 12:47 PM
....?

Thx..

If you enjoyed reading about "Can the same dies be used for 380 acp and 9mm?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Wil Terry
September 11, 2012, 12:55 PM
NO.

powell&hyde
September 11, 2012, 01:18 PM
Necessity being the mother of invention, it can be done. http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?t=97794

RandyP
September 11, 2012, 02:56 PM
While the nomenclature is confusingly similar 9mm Luger vs 9mm Short or 9mm Kurz for the .380, the 9mm Luger is a tapered case, the smaller is a straight wall.

I am a big fan of Lee products and their die sets are quite affordable. While I reckon anything can be jury-rigged, it is a whole lot easier to just use the corrrect dies for each caliber.

mtrmn
September 11, 2012, 03:01 PM
OK-so maybe it CAN be done, but I still advise you to just go ahead and get the proper die set and be done with it. JMO

rcmodel
September 11, 2012, 03:06 PM
+1

The 9mm is a 391" head to .380" mouth tapered case with a .394" case rim.

The .380 ACP is a straight case measuring .374" including the rim.

So NO, you can't load both calibers properly with the same dies.

rc

mgmorden
September 11, 2012, 03:33 PM
I say this as someone who already owns separate die sets for both, BUT:

With carbide dies, don't they typically do a straight-walled resize on the case even if specs call for it to be tapered? With 9mm that was my understanding as to why carbide dies produced a more pronounced "coke bottle" effect.

With that in mind, since the case mouth is the same to hold the same width bullets, it would seem to indicate that carbide dies already would be sizing to the same level.

Of course I'm sure I'm missing something, as I know that occasionally a piece of .380 brass wanders its way into my 9mm and without fail I can pretty much always tell from the way the case feels on the resize. Pops in and out with barely any resistance.

Otto
September 11, 2012, 03:54 PM
No, and neither do the shell holders. Just curious, do you own a manual?

rajb123
September 11, 2012, 06:23 PM
Yes, I own a Speer/RCBS manual and some other older literature. The manual is very big and heavy, so I don't lug it around ever.... it stays near the bench, and that means I cannot refer to it except when I am in front of the press...

This manual came with a rockchucker SS press I purchased a few years ago and I was somewhat surprised because I assumed printed books went out of use about 10-15 years ago. I would have preferred a CD with the loading data that is included in the paper book and that would have cost RCBS about 10 cents to include in the Supreme SS package.

I think it is time for RCBS to reconsider the items included in the SS kits. The big heavy book and the beam scale should be replaced by a CD and a small digital scale. The hand primer is also useless to me and I would have preferred a stand-alone primer flipper.

We are in the 21st century ...no need to 20th century stuff IMO.

rcmodel
September 11, 2012, 06:28 PM
CD reloading manuals??

The big heavy book
Seriously!! How heavy can a reloading manual be???

One of my manuals stays open on the loading bench every time I start working with a new caliber or new load for an older caliber I have loaded for years.
Heaven forbid I had to run upstairs and boot up a computer to double check a case length measurement or powder charge on a CD!!

Another couple stay here by my computer so I can answer questions with half a clue of knowing what I'm typing.

If they included a cheap digital scale half as accurate as the cheap beam scale, you couldn't afford it.

rc

NeuseRvrRat
September 11, 2012, 06:38 PM
if you don't like the book or the scale

maybe you shouldn't have bought them

HOWARD J
September 11, 2012, 06:58 PM
If you loaded or reloaded with only a digital scale---I would make sure that I was at least 50' away from you when you started shooting

gpjoe
September 11, 2012, 07:35 PM
If you loaded or reloaded with only a digital scale---I would make sure that I was at least 50' away from you when you started shooting


Really?

What's wrong with using "...only a digital scale..."? I wouldn't be surprised to learn that 50% of folks reload using only a digital scale. I know I do, and it works wonderfully.

In fact, I'm going to start a poll on digital vs beam scale.

Oh and I'm also in SE Michigan, so make sure you ask me if I'm next to you at the range. I'll be the one shooting the flawless reloads. :)

beatledog7
September 11, 2012, 07:53 PM
I can hardly wait to see where this goes.....

jcwit
September 11, 2012, 08:02 PM
For less that the cost of a tank of gas today, just get a set of 380 dies and be done with it.

https://fsreloading.com/lee-3-die-set-380-carbide-90625.html

jcwit
September 11, 2012, 08:04 PM
If you loaded or reloaded with only a digital scale---I would make sure that I was at least 50' away from you when you started shooting

What pray tell is that supposed to imply?????????????????????????????

cfullgraf
September 11, 2012, 08:22 PM
If you loaded or reloaded with only a digital scale---I would make sure that I was at least 50' away from you when you started shooting

I have not open the box with my beam scale in 15 to 18 years.

The last time I compared my digital and beam scales, they weighed powder charges exactly the same.

The digital scale gives me better information faster.

mtrmn
September 12, 2012, 09:29 AM
It's common knowledge that we'll soon lose the power grid, batteries and other energy sources will be depleted right off the bat, how will you ever manage to load your ammo without old school beam scales and printed books???;)

ljnowell
September 12, 2012, 10:01 AM
The digital scale gives me better information faster.

Until the batteries go low, or they quit working. I bought a few different digital scales over the years, I use my beam every time. After having new batteries that were weak give me erroneous results I will not ever trust one again. 6.3gr of Bullseye is a little bit unsafe in a 230gr 45acp load.

cfullgraf
September 12, 2012, 02:05 PM
Until the batteries go low, or they quit working.

Batteries, what batteries? My digital scale doesn't use no stinking batteries.

If no 110v in my reloading room, I would not be reloading anyway--no light!

jcwit
September 12, 2012, 02:14 PM
Until the batteries go low, or they quit working. I bought a few different digital scales over the years, I use my beam every time. After having new batteries that were weak give me erroneous results I will not ever trust one again. 6.3gr of Bullseye is a little bit unsafe in a 230gr 45acp load.



Dead batteries, low batteries. I only use NiMHyd rechargable batteries. Electrical grid going down, sure, dream on, even if it does the solar panels and little wind mach will take over.

ljnowell
September 12, 2012, 02:19 PM
Dead batteries, low batteries. I only use NiMHyd rechargable batteries. Electrical grid going down, sure, dream on, even if it does the solar panels and little wind mach will take over.Who said anything about the grid?? The fact is when batteries are low, and you wont know it, digital scales can give bad readings. If you dont believe that fine, but you are wrong.

jcwit
September 12, 2012, 03:06 PM
Who said anything about the grid??

Please read before you post. Read and note post # 18 here is the quote.

It's common knowledge that we'll soon lose the power grid, batteries and other energy sources will be depleted right off the bat, how will you ever manage to load your ammo without old school beam scales and printed books???

Thats who talked about the grid going down!

The fact is when batteries are low, and you wont know it, digital scales can give bad readings.

This is why I use a check weight before starting as I would with ANY scale before starting.

If you dont believe that fine, but you are wrong.

Thats how I know I'm NOT wrong.

ljnowell
September 12, 2012, 03:33 PM
This is why I use a check weight before starting as I would with ANY scale before starting.



Do you use a check weight every time you weigh a different charge?

I fired up my scale, checked it with a check weight and started doing some reloading. Switched calibers, reset my powder measure, using the digital scale. Something didnt look right. Didnt look like the right amount of powder to me. Took out my beam scale and yep, she was about 2gr heavy. Read right on though. Used a check weight not more than an hour before.

So, yeah, digitals can easily be wrong. You can deny that all you want, but thats exactly how it happened to me, and why i dont use one anymore. I might be swayed to buy one that is 110v, but for that money my beam scale works every time.

jcwit
September 12, 2012, 03:47 PM
I also check my charged batteries, don't know what to tell you, I just NEVER had any problems doing it the way I do.

Never ever use partialled charged batteries.

Do you use a check weight every time you weigh a different charge?



I check every time I change charges and every time I've had the unit on for any length of time.

It's worked for me for over 10 years now. YMMV

Use any scale you wish, just relating my experience.

ljnowell
September 12, 2012, 04:25 PM
I check every time I change charges and every time I've had the unit on for any length of time.

Thats the only way if you are gonna use one as your primary scale. It soured me after my experience with it, so I wont use one anymore. I have though about one of the high dollar powder dispenser/scale combos. Mainly for stuff like rifle loads, just havent got the guts up to try one again.

Certaindeaf
September 12, 2012, 04:30 PM
Proof that the .380 has usurped the .44 magnum is when people avert/divert to powder measures/weight of powder. heavens

cfullgraf
September 12, 2012, 05:24 PM
Do you use a check weight every time you weigh a different charge?



You do realize that you must "zero" or "tare weight" the scale periodically?

Digital scales need to be re-zeroed periodically as they will drift. This is not the same as re-calibrated.

I re-zero mine every two or three charges when I am setting up the powder measure. Sometimes more frequent. I will hit the zero button before checking a powder charge during a reloading session.

I record the weight of the powder pan so I use it as a "check weight" so to speak during the reloading session. The pan tells me that the scale is still reading correctly. But, I never have an issue needing to recalibrate the scale when changing powder charges.

I go through the calibration procedure every time I turn the scale on.

It is one reason I do not have a battery powered scale. Most turn themselves off after a short time to save battery power. I am uncomfortable using the scale without calibrating it when I turn it back on.

Beam scales work fine and I do have one for back up. But, it sits in its box on the shelf waiting for the power grid to crash.

jcwit
September 12, 2012, 07:41 PM
Absolutely cfullgraf, you are correct!

ljnowell
September 12, 2012, 07:48 PM
You do realize that you must "zero" or "tare weight" the scale periodically?


Absolutely, why would assume that I do not? I have been reloading for quite a while. Anything that runs on batteries will not work right if the batteries are weak.

cfullgraf
September 12, 2012, 09:42 PM
Anything that runs on batteries will not work right if the batteries are weak.

Absolutely. But I doubt that TVA's "batteries" will run low anytime soon.:)

See post #20

joshf128
September 14, 2012, 05:24 AM
Hey, at least the OP recognizes that they are different calibers. Yesterday at the range I overheard someone ask a guy what caliber he was shooting and he answered "380". His buddy said "I think you mean 38 special". Response "Oh yah, same thing".

At least they weren't shooting reloads.

Similar thing happened in Cabela's a couple of weeks back. I was looking at bullets next to another shopper and the salesman came to ask if there was anything we needed help finding. The other guy said that it looked like they didn't have the bullets he was looking for in 38 special, so he was just going to buy some for 380 and use those. When the salesman tried to explain that it was not a good idea the other customer told him to mind his own business and stormed off towards the cash register with his 380 (.355) bullets.

GLOOB
September 14, 2012, 08:02 AM
OP: I don't see why not. There might be a slight dimensional differences. As long as the round chambers and you get good neck tension with no setback, it should work.

One concern. When I bought my .38/357 dies, I asked the guy if I could load both calibers with the same dies. He said that you can use .38 special dies to load both. But if you bought dies specifically made for .357, you couldn't load .38 special. It was a problem of either crimping or flaring, I don't remember which. Basically, the shorter .38 special case might not be able to reach in a .357 specific die. (I don't think anyone makes .357-specific dies, anymore, anyway).

So you might be able to load 9mm with .380 dies, but not the other way around. Wouldn't hurt to try.

Also, because the 9mm is tapered, it might be the case that 9mm dies are made with the sizer ring higher up. So you might not be able to size a .380 case all the way. And conversely, using a .380 sizing die on a 9mm case might overwork the web, unless you leave a gap between the die and the shellholder.

If you enjoyed reading about "Can the same dies be used for 380 acp and 9mm?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!