Chronograph question...


September 26, 2012, 09:41 PM
Just started using one. Question....

How far do you set your Chrony for pistol shooting? Do you set it the same distance when shooting a rifle?

My calibers are 45 Colt, 40 S&W, 9mm, 380, 5.56/223 and 270. I'm using Win 231, Trail Boss for pistols. Rifle I've got H335 and WC844 and Varget for 5.56. Not yet reloading for 270 yet.

I want to get consistent information and just want to make sure I'm using it correctly..

Thanks folks!!!

If you enjoyed reading about "Chronograph question..." here in archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join today for the full version!
September 26, 2012, 10:16 PM
I set my PACT out at exactly 15 feet from the bench for handguns. For rifles, I set it 20 feet from the bench.

Hope this helps.


September 26, 2012, 11:20 PM
15' is 5 yds, is 6 marching paces. Me too for pistol.;)

September 27, 2012, 12:15 AM
My Gamma Master Chrony has an 18' cord between the display and head unit.
I stretch it out as far as I can.
If I do t stretch it out I usually get some burnt powder tripping the sensors.

September 27, 2012, 12:57 AM
Same here. Just put the chrono as far out as the wires will allow. I've rarely had a problem or misread doing it this way. Sun and such is an entirely different issue.

September 27, 2012, 10:45 AM
not all chronographs have wires running back to the bench

September 27, 2012, 10:55 AM
I use an old Ohler 35P and set it 10 foot downrange of the muzzle.


September 27, 2012, 11:24 AM
6-10 feet for pistols, 10-15 feet for rifles.

September 27, 2012, 11:32 AM
I set mine at 10ft. I think the directions that came with it said 8, but I had some issues that may or may not have had antything to do with distance.

September 27, 2012, 11:45 AM
About 12 feet for rifles and pistols, about 8 feet for shotgun (yes it does work and I haven't shot the chrony *yet*).

I would recommend bringing along a 22LR or BB gun or airsoft gun to test out your setup. Shoot cheap ammo to make sure the setup works reliably because sometimes you will simply not get good readings depending on where the sun is and you don't want to waste your good stuff because of poor lighting conditions.

I don't know what you mean by 2' or 4' screens, I use a Shooting Chrony Beta Master and use wooden "rods" to hold up the sunscreens. I learned that trick from someone who shot their metal rod and broke the plastic body on the base unit. They are actually each made of 2 Panda Express chopsticks end to end with another one glued to the first 2 for support. Perfect length and fit. If I accidentally hit a rod, it will shatter and not damage the chrony body. If I hit the body, well that's not so good.

September 27, 2012, 12:06 PM
For the shotgun, are you using 2ft or 4ft screens?

September 28, 2012, 12:13 AM
Set mine up at 10' (Oehler 35P) and check alignment with a laser bore sighter so as not to give it lead poisoning.

If you enjoyed reading about "Chronograph question..." here in archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join today for the full version!