How much work is it to switch between calibers On the Lee Pro 1000


PDA






spleify
October 8, 2012, 11:03 AM
I just ordered my first progressive press, the Lee Pro 1000. I have been loading on my Lee single stage for over 10 years now so I am really looking forward to the new progressive.

I am used to switching between dies for all the different stations and calibers so that is not a big deal to me but what I would like to know is how big of a deal is it to change out the Pro 1000 for different calibers?

I purchased the press set up for .45ACP but I would also like to switch back and forth between .45, 9mm and maybe even .223.

So what all is needed and how much work is it to switch? Please dont tell me to just buy another press, as this is what I will do in time but I can not afford it right now so an alternative is needed.

Thanks

If you enjoyed reading about "How much work is it to switch between calibers On the Lee Pro 1000" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
joecil
October 8, 2012, 02:15 PM
It really depends on what you are willing to spend as to how fast. If you are willing to buy a turret and complete shell plate assembly it takes a minute or two. Changing the shell plate only will take a bit more work but still not difficult just takes a bit longer as well however it depends on having a turret ready to go with your dies. Oh and the complete shell plate assembly comes with the primer feed setup for what ever caliber you are loading.

Turrets cost about $7 and complete shell carrier is $35.

john16443
October 8, 2012, 02:15 PM
Should take about 3 minutes. Buy an extra turret for each caliber you want to reload, and a corresponding shellplate. Swap these out along with maybe the primer feed and you should be good to go. Google it for more details.

Oldgoat03
October 8, 2012, 02:17 PM
Caliber changes are pretty easy. Use link below to watch step by step Youtube videos from "SF Liberal with a gun".

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pYqj9BaLTjU
Bob

DesertratAZ
October 8, 2012, 02:30 PM
I have extra a turret and complete shell plate carriers for each caliber. Takes only a few minutes max to change it out.

HOWARD J
October 8, 2012, 04:07 PM
I have a Pro 1000--9MM Luger
Being retired I am in no rush--I use a Lee 4 hole turret press.
If I remember the primers always gave me a hard time on the Pro 1000--always seemed to jamb up---anyone have that problem ??

bds
October 8, 2012, 05:28 PM
Pro 1000 ... primers - always seemed to jamb up---anyone have that problem ??
Solutions for Pro 1000 primer attachment issues:

Initial set up and quality control check - http://www.thehighroad.org/showthread.php?p=7773536#post7773536


Detailed attachment operation/pictures and repair/burnishing of attachment surfaces - http://www.thehighroad.org/showthread.php?p=7877744#post7877744

tightgroup tiger
October 8, 2012, 05:50 PM
bds,
I was getting worried about you, I hadn't seen you on here for a while.

OP, for quick estimate of around $60.00 in parts and shipping you can change it quickly, as long as you don't have to change your primer assy to a different size. Then it will take longer.

spleify
October 8, 2012, 10:59 PM
Thanks so much for the tips everyone.

Does anyone have experience with loading .223 on one of these?

I am not to worried about a little bit of setup time, in all it will be much much quicker than what I am doing now on my single stage.

Thanks for the help

kingmt
October 9, 2012, 11:36 AM
As easy & fast as it is to setup a extra carrier seems like a waste of money. If your using large primers you will need the kit switch over.

Most 9mm & 223 that I come across have crimped primers so they need swaged before they can be primed.

GLOOB
October 9, 2012, 09:48 PM
If I remember the primers always gave me a hard time on the Pro 1000--always seemed to jamb up---anyone have that problem ??
Seems like it would still be faster to size/prime on the Turret, and then flare/charge/seat on the Pro1000? I was toying with the idea of getting a Pro 1000 and using it this way. But then I ran low on components. I can't seem to shoot the ammo fast enough, the closest range being so far away. So I'm going the other way, and I'm going to start casting bullets to save more money while spending even more time making ammo. :)

Elkins45
October 9, 2012, 10:50 PM
Thanks so much for the tips everyone.

Does anyone have experience with loading .223 on one of these?

I am not to worried about a little bit of setup time, in all it will be much much quicker than what I am doing now on my single stage.

Thanks for the help
I've loaded thousands of rounds of .223 on mine. What do you want to know?

spleify
October 10, 2012, 12:08 AM
So I ordered the set up for the .45ACP. Am I going to need other parts to be able to load for small primer calibers ie. 9mm and .223?

I was thinking the same thing that I will need to swage and maybe even reprime separately. So if I prime first, can I just remove that die from the press and skip that step?

Thanks for all the help folks. I'm sure once I have it I will have more questions, and some question swill be worked out once I can actually see the thing.

kingmt
October 10, 2012, 03:40 PM
Yes. I wouldn't mind doing the 223 lime that but it would sick for 9mm & 45acp.

Elkins45
October 25, 2012, 05:22 PM
You will need the correct size shellplates and a small primer feeder/seater. They are very reasonably priced and relatively easy to install.

This presumes you are willing to manually feed the cases. If you want to retain the automatic case feeding feature then you will need that hardware as well. Personally I don't bother, as I feel like loading the feed tubes takes as much (or more) time than the feeder feature saves.

kingmt
October 26, 2012, 01:40 PM
Personally I love the case feeder.

If you enjoyed reading about "How much work is it to switch between calibers On the Lee Pro 1000" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!