Alliant Power Pistol

PDA

ares338
October 10, 2012, 03:51 PM
Just I quick question. Is it advisable to use Alliant Power Pistol Powder on cast bullets such as a 230 gr round nose?

If you enjoyed reading about "Alliant Power Pistol" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
joed
October 10, 2012, 03:59 PM
I used it and never had a problem. Don't know about others though.

Blackrock
October 10, 2012, 04:16 PM
Load it all the time in my .45ACP for cast, plated and jacketed.

ares338
October 10, 2012, 04:33 PM
Thanks guys. I thought it would be OK but I am brand new at this so I tend to ask a lot of questions? This is going to be interesting as I am reloading using a Lee Classic hand loader and I am wondering about a start point for the amount of powder.

tyeo098
October 10, 2012, 04:44 PM
http://www.handloads.com/loaddata/default.asp?Caliber=45%20ACP&Weight=230&type=Handgun&Order=Powder&Source=

CTRL+F "power pistol"

230gr FMJ 7.2 gr Power Pistol 895 fps 1.19"OAL Fed 150 Alliant
Suggested starting load: 6.5 gr

Pressure: 20,000

For the record, I use 5gr of Bullseye.

Josh45
October 10, 2012, 06:05 PM
I have used it for 230 Gr LRN in my .45 ACP, And that was the last time. Way to much snap for me.

jr_roosa
October 10, 2012, 09:22 PM
I find that power pistol runs hot in general, but I like it for .45ACP just fine. Go easy and work up slowly, and a chronograph helps a lot.

-J.

Steve C
October 11, 2012, 01:14 AM
Power Pistol is the canister version of Bullseye 2 which was developed for the military to load the 9mm. When data was first published there was an obvious lack of lead bullet information for several years.