Holster Repair advice please

PDA

iLikeOldgunsIlikeNewGuns
October 27, 2012, 11:26 AM
Hello all, I have zero experience whatsoever when it comes to leather-work and holster-work. The other day when I wasn't wearing my favorite IWB holster I was moving stuff around and I managed to slam it really good between the floor and a very heavy object, and now the male portion of one of the button-snaps has been smooshed into itself :( It will no longer snap, and I have to use a cheaper IWB that gets the job done but not nearly as well.

So my question is this, having no experience with these things at all, how does one go about removing a button-snap? It seems like it's a form of rivet, I do not want to damage this holster, I love it, it has served me well and I'd like it to continue to do so. I tried using leverage to bend it back out but only succeeded in loosening the rivet/snap a bit. I'm guessing I can get a replacement snap at an arts and crafts store?

Any and all feedback, tips, and advice will be greatly appreciated!

I just snapped a pic of what I'm talking about, but of course the smooshed part is on the other side of the snap, so you can't really see it...:banghead:

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8049/8127846155_97d9996f54_z.jpg

If you enjoyed reading about "Holster Repair advice please" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
M-Cameron
October 27, 2012, 11:54 AM
you can buy a snap fastener kit (like this (http://www.acehardware.com/product/index.jsp?productId=1292902&cagpspn=pla)) at just about any hardware/ craft/ leatherworking store...

then its simply a matter of drilling out the old snap fastener and riveting in the new snap fastener.

rcmodel
October 27, 2012, 01:47 PM
Drilling them out doesn't work so hot.
A set of snap parts consists of the Cap & Socket, or female snap.
And the Post & Stud, or the male part you smashed.