223 sizing questions

PDA

drsfmd
November 3, 2012, 10:24 PM
I'm not new to reloading, but I'm new to necked cartridges, so I'm in new territory, and a little out of my element (shotshells and straight walled pistol cartridges)

Setting up my press to load .223, and I'm curious about case sizing. My books indicate that 1.750 is the ideal length-- my question is how much wiggle room is there in that number? I sized 5 pieces of brass and came out with the following lengths: 1.7755, 1.7760, 1.7595, 1.7590, 1.7520, 1.7480, 1.7475, 1.7430, 1.7425, 1.7400.

Is that to much variation (or is that normal)?

I assume the first two are too long and need to be trimmed, but what about the others?

Is there such a thing as too short (I mean, I know the *obvious* answer, but I don't know what that number is).

Thanks for entertaining my dumb questions.

If you enjoyed reading about "223 sizing questions" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
peels
November 3, 2012, 10:42 PM
The variation can be due to different manufactures (if you are using mixed head stamp). Varying power of the load will also cause length variations. the hotter the load, the more the case will tend to stretch. Variation in headspace can also cause difference in case stretch.

The way I understand it, there is no issues with the case being too short, unless it is excessively short to the point where there is not enough neck tension, then you risk setback.

The only issue different length cases will cause is if you crimp your rounds, the crimp would not be consistent if you have varying length cases.

rg1
November 3, 2012, 10:44 PM