New to gssf

PDA

Jhamblen86
November 8, 2012, 12:24 AM
Hey everyone, I've finally decided to get a glock as my SD pistol but would like to get into gssf. I will be getting a glock 21. I have very little knowledge of gssf but heard its a blast. My questions are, is the 21 sutable for gssf or is the caliber too large? Also, do you need to be an experienced shooter with more than a few years under your belt?

If you enjoyed reading about "New to gssf" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
45_auto
November 8, 2012, 07:33 AM
The 45ACP and 10mm have their own class called "Heavy Metal" in the GSSF, so it's not too big, it's just what you need to shoot that class.

You don't need to be an experienced shooter, just come out and have fun. The courses of fire are simple and the range officers will explain everything to you. It's a step down from IDPA, IPSC, etc. You're not moving around or doing reloads on the clock. Heavy Metal tends to be one of the classes with the fewest shooters, typically 15 or 20 entries at most matches. 1st place is a new Glock, 2nd is usually a Glock shovel. Losing a gun and winning a shovel by a few tenths of second is aggravating.

The matches are on Saturday and Sunday, you can come out whenever you want and shoot the stages. Saturdays are usually pretty crowded and you'll be waiting in lines to shoot, Sunday mornings you can usually go straight through with no lines. It takes them about a month to post the results on the GSSF website after the matches.

All of the GSSF rules, courses of fire, etc, are here:

http://www.gssfonline.com/glockrpt/2012_The_GLOCK_Report.pdf

Sam1911
November 8, 2012, 01:34 PM
I've worked as an SO at GSSF events. It is certainly safe to say you don't need to be experienced in competition to go shoot and have a good time -- maybe even to win!