Losing powder on Lee Loadmaster


PDA






spleify
November 13, 2012, 03:00 AM
Has anyone else had any issues with losing powder when charging cases?

Its not a lot but 10 or 20 grains(actually number of grains not 20 grains by weight) each cartridge, so after you do 200 it is a huge mess all over my bench and floor, not to mention a total waste of powder.

Lee Load master, Lee powder charger and .223 cases.

Thanks for any and all help

If you enjoyed reading about "Losing powder on Lee Loadmaster" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
SSN Vet
November 13, 2012, 10:18 AM
is the powder drop rectangular (older Auto-Disk) or cylindrical (newer pro Auto-disk)?

The pro has a soft poly wiper that will seal the disk pretty well. I believe the older model does not have the wiper.

I run the pro on a classic turret press and loose maybe 5 granuals of powder after loading 100 rounds.... so the amount you're losing is definately out of the norm.

I'd make sure the screws that hold the top assy to the base are snug (they never really get tight, as they're threaded into plastic), and that your powder through expander die is adjusted so the disk is sliding out completely, but the expander is not bottoming out on the case.

Is this a new kit? Then if the adjustments noted above don't solve the problem, give Lee a call. They have a pretty good rep. for supporting their customers.

spleify
November 14, 2012, 10:09 AM
Thanks SSN Vet. Yes this is the new auto disc, the round one. The screws are tight and the I do believe the die is set properly. Its definitely a mess after a number of rounds, and like I mentioned a total waste of money

Maybe I will try and give Lee a call

WNC Seabee
November 14, 2012, 10:14 AM
When I had a LoadMaster, I found that "rhythm" made a huge difference in the quality of the loads. Pull the lever too fast or hard and you get issues with the primer system and powder thrown all over. Go to slow and you get issues with the primers. But, once I found that rhythm that worked all was good.

hentown
November 14, 2012, 11:57 AM
Don't you have to use the Double Disc Kit for reloading rifle ammo? That's what I did when I was tediously reloading on a Toadmaster. AAMOF, I modified an adjustable charge bar so it would stack on top of another adjustable charge bar. I didn't have any problems with powder spillage...lots of other problems, but not that one.

A sensible solution would be to buy a quality powder measure and use the Hornady case-activated kit with it.

blarby
November 14, 2012, 12:20 PM
Its not a lot but 10 or 20 grains(actually number of grains not 20 grains by weight)

Granules. That is the word you are looking for.

Call Lee. What you are experiencing is NOT normal.

I lose 1 or 2 granules per session using ultrafine powders like H110- not rifle powders at all. Its either being jerked into spilling ( that Rhythm note above ) or you have components that aren't coming together correctly when indexing.

This could be just as likely to be improper installation as it would be improper part manufacturing.

spleify
November 15, 2012, 12:18 PM
Thanks blarby, yes that the word I am looking for...granules lol.

I will have time here soon to take it apart and call Lee and look at everything.

Thanks again folks for all the help.

sellersm
November 15, 2012, 12:45 PM
Correct me if I'm wrong, but aren't there two ways to put the Auto Disc powder container on? If it's put on one way, it seems to 'lose' more granules, and if it's put on the other way, it doesn't... At least, that's been my experience with that powder system on my Pro 1000.

It could be just that the rubber pieces have deteriorated a bit, especially with our VERY dry climate here in CO.

I'm sure Lee tech support will have something helpful for you. I don't think you're near me, or I'd take a look at it.

SSN Vet
November 15, 2012, 02:38 PM
Yes you can install the top backwards....

post a pic of the installation and we can tell you if it's backwards

spleify
November 16, 2012, 02:53 AM
Its the one in the middle in the first pic.

Only pics I have right now

SSN Vet
November 16, 2012, 04:19 PM
your tops on the right way

Have you tried it out with a different disk?

Sometimes injection molded parts contract after coming out of the mould.... and I'm wondering if your disk may have a shallow dip in the top.

Try a differnt disk and then put a true straight edge on the top of the offending disk and hold it up to the light to see if there's a gap.

Should be dead flat on top.

Call Lee up either way.... they should (and I suspect will) make this right.

SSN Vet
November 16, 2012, 04:29 PM
Just out of curiosity.... I never did get why the Auto-disk used the chain and lever arm to actuate on the load master...'

Why is it that the normal case actuation in the powder through expander die doesn't work?

blarby
November 16, 2012, 05:53 PM
@ spleify

We have the same lamp.

I'll be danged. That was a popular model.

If you like those FMJ's in 45, I have something I'm sure you might like to try........ hit me up !

gunnysmith
November 16, 2012, 06:22 PM
The chain is to guarantee a reset of the measure allowing it to fill for the next charge.
You should install it on all their presses.

gunnysmith
November 16, 2012, 06:25 PM
It's Centrifugal force in combination with an abrupt stop causing the powder to sluff over the edge of the case.

If you enjoyed reading about "Losing powder on Lee Loadmaster" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!