CCW and a motorcycle

PDA

xwingband
December 6, 2012, 09:59 PM
I'm still very new to carrying and have read some threads I could find. So I've just started trying to carry while using my motorcycle to get to my destination. I'm looking for some advice on how to do it and remain concealed.

I ride a Ducati Monster (and carry a HK P7)... so I'm not hunched forward as much as a full on sport bike, but I'm more forward than a cruiser. Carrying in front of my hip leads to the gun being pushed up into my body uncomfortably. Carrying behind the hip is not concealed... even not on the motorcycle I find behind the hip not a good option at all for my body. The butt of the gun kicks right out and is super noticeable on the bike. I ride with all my gear, but even so it's usually a t-shirt under and it prints like nothing else with just a t-shirt.

I'm beginning to think stowing it in something or a gun small enough for a neck holster is about it... I don't have any storage on my bike. I could get a tank or tail bag well enough but saddle bags aren't really being made for my exact model anymore (I'm also somewhat picky... I have a nice italian bike it seem such a shame to put generic nylon type bags on it). I rarely need to store anything, just getting to my destination, so storage has never been aesthetically pleasing or seemed a good use of my money.

What say you all?

If you enjoyed reading about "CCW and a motorcycle" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
guyfromohio
December 6, 2012, 10:06 PM
Ohio has open carry, so I generally carry IWB at about the kidney.....don't really care if someone sees it. However, you ride with gear so get a clip on IWB and stick the holster and gun in your zipped jacket pocket. When you get to your destination, hit the bathroom and put it in your waistband.

smalls
December 6, 2012, 10:06 PM
Shoulder rig.

Grmlin
December 6, 2012, 10:13 PM