Glock 36 barrel swap


PDA






steve_dune
December 8, 2012, 04:47 PM
Would a barrel for a Glock 30 work with a Glock 36? I'm looking to buy a new barrel that is threaded .578" x 28 for my G36 but KKM and Storm Lake doesn't offer one for the G36. They do however offer one for the G30. Thanks

If you enjoyed reading about "Glock 36 barrel swap" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Robbins290
December 8, 2012, 10:36 PM
hmm. I'm not sure. I owned both. never checked it out. hope someone knows, and posts it.

rskent
December 9, 2012, 07:41 AM
I have a threaded Lone Wolf for my G36. It works OK.

Dan-O
December 9, 2012, 10:12 AM
No, the barrels are not interchangeable.

steve_dune
December 9, 2012, 11:51 AM
So it looks like my only option is a Lone Wolf barrel?

powder
December 9, 2012, 05:32 PM
Try Bar-Sto as well.

Cycletroll
December 9, 2012, 06:56 PM
Actually, yes, they are interchangeable.
I own both pistols and have interchanged them after doing all the external measurements/comparisons. The barrels are identical in all pertinent external dimensions. They are not however exactly the same. The G36 barrel has more aggressive lateral throating to the feed chamber where the feed ramp enters. This does nothing to prevent the barrel from being put into a G30 but might affect reliability.
As far as the reliability of an aftermarket G30 barrel in a G36 I have no idea. My guess is that (given the typically tighter chamber tolerances of)the aftermarket barrel might pose feed reliability problems in a G36.

pikid89
December 9, 2012, 07:26 PM
i dont know if this helps in anyway, but you can put a G36 slide onto a G30/29 frame and it will work as G30

If you enjoyed reading about "Glock 36 barrel swap" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!