why hot loads?

PDA

Scuba_Steve
December 23, 2012, 10:02 AM
I'm new to reloading and during my research I keep reading about people developing hot loads, especially in .44 and 10mm.

aside from hunting, I'm wondering what appeals is for hot loads. do some of you use them for purposes other than hunting or self defense?

If you enjoyed reading about "why hot loads?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
bluetopper
December 23, 2012, 10:06 AM
Hot loads? Do you mean loading above published data and above recommended pressures?

cfullgraf
December 23, 2012, 10:10 AM
Folks like hot loads for the same reason they like fast cars.

Scuba_Steve
December 23, 2012, 10:18 AM
^^^^^^^
this I can understand :)

tightgroup tiger
December 23, 2012, 10:20 AM
I'm wondering the same thing as Parasite also.

I generally only load mid to upper range for all my guns.
Just my preference, nothing more.

The only time I will load at or around min load is for short barreled revolvers for my wife. The odds of sticking a bullet in a snub from a light load isn't near as great as it is in 6"or 8"barrel. There are some bullseye recipes in one of my Lyman manuals that isn't recomended for use "longer barreled revolvers".

As far as my carry rounds, I shoot what I carry, and I don't carry light loads for self protection.

Old Fuff
December 23, 2012, 10:28 AM
In the case of handguns, some believe that which is the most powerful will also guarantee a certain stop in a shooting incident. This isn't necessarily true, but it's core to their thinking and acts somewhat like a security blanket.

(I can't hit the broadside of a barn at 10 feet, but the propwash from my super-load will knock the bad guy down.) :uhoh: :rolleyes:

Scuba_Steve
December 23, 2012, 10:29 AM
^^^^^
no, I didn't mean above recommended pressures. I was thinking in terms of hotter than factory rounds.

jaguarxk120
December 23, 2012, 10:33 AM