Looking for first CCW handgun. .380 vs. .40.

PDA

mgh-pa
December 26, 2012, 01:08 PM
Long time lurker, first time poster. I'm not new to firearms, just to handguns, and after getting my CCW permit this summer, I've put off purchasing a handgun for longer than I would like. I've fired a variety of .45s and 9mms, and one .38, so I have a pretty good feel for the size gun I would like. I'm not able to carry daily since I'm a school teacher, but I would like to have a gun I can keep with me (on or not) in my vehicle when not on the job, as well as carry on me when outside of school.

A lot of people I know really like their .380 Bersa's, and I know one person who just bough a Sig P238 in a .380 and loves it (although he thinks it's a bit on the heavy side compared to other polymer pistols).

I've been eyeing up the XDs in .40 since it's so slim (that's a big one, since I think I want to carry using an IWB), but it is pricey, albeit no more pricey than the aforementioned Sig.

Is there any general recommendations on the .40 vs. .380 from a carry aspect? Thanks in advance.

If you enjoyed reading about "Looking for first CCW handgun. .380 vs. .40." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Skribs
December 26, 2012, 01:13 PM
The XDs is offered in .45, not .45.

.40 vs. .380 isn't a debate I see very often, they are too widely different calibers. It seems to me that you want a single stack pistol for carry. There are a lot of these on the market nowadays; personally I'd recommend a 9 or a .380 over a .40 in that size. Considering how my .380 LCP beats up my hand, I wouldn't want a small, light .40.

I'd recommend 9 over .380, although there are a few really small options that don't have a comparable 9, if deep concealment is an issue. Something like the S&W M&P Shield, Sig P938, Beretta Nano, or something similar would be my recommendation.

jrdolall
December 26, 2012, 01:15 PM