Letter To Your Congress Reps Suggested Verbiage Thread

PDA

strange246
December 28, 2012, 07:27 PM
Anyone more well spoken than myself care to suggest verbiage when writing ones representatives in congress? I'm a certified welder and mechanic, not an orator, I assume there's more folks out there like myself that would like to call or write their reps and not come off sounding like a "gun toting tool"

If you enjoyed reading about "Letter To Your Congress Reps Suggested Verbiage Thread" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
JBrady555
December 28, 2012, 07:33 PM
Welder/Boilermaker here too. As stated in another thread that I read its probably best to keep the letters short and sweet. One or two sentences on your stance and how you won't vote for someone who votes for anti-gun legislation. Like also stated the representative likely won't be reading it, just their staff which catagorize your letter into either pro gun or anti gun. If our catagory out weighs the anti's catagory then we could possibly even sway the thinking of a anti gun politician afraid of losing re-election. this is just my two cents.

Billll
December 28, 2012, 07:55 PM
There was a comment over at Tameras from a fellow who actually had the job of reading a congressman's mail. The gist of it is that while the congressman won't be reading your letter, his staff will be.

The staff has bags of mail to read so the reading will be cursory.

The staff is put upon enough that hate mail will be canned.

Score is kept on the topics: Guns, for or against, etc, for or against. Going into great detail isn't necessary.

E-mail works better than snail mail since all envelopes are screened for Anthrax and bombs.

Putting your name on a form letter will count for less that something you wrote yourself as the Congressman wants to know how many of the letters supporting banning baloney are form letters.

Example:
----------------------