"Rocket Launchers" turned in at L.A. gun buy backl

PDA

MAKster
December 28, 2012, 07:57 PM
So CNN has been pushing a story all day saying two rocket launchers were turned in at an Los Angeles gun buy back. While they made it sound really scary, they were actually empty LAW rocket tubes. While I'm no expert, I know LAW rockets are one shot deals so having an empty tube isn't of much use other then as a collectible.

If you enjoyed reading about ""Rocket Launchers" turned in at L.A. gun buy backl" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
leadcounsel
December 28, 2012, 07:58 PM
Yep, it's an illuminum tube. Maybe illegal, probably considered "military property." But also quite harmless.

Silent Bob
December 28, 2012, 08:00 PM
They're not even all that much aluminum as they are fiberglass. An expended LAW tube is no more dangerous than a surplus helmet, or an MRE. Actually, the MRE might be more dangerous.

DanTheFarmer
December 28, 2012, 08:23 PM
Yeah, after the "Beans and Franks" MRE you wouldn't be Silent Bob anymore!

Oh, I just crack myself up.

Dan

oron
December 28, 2012, 08:29 PM
Eat the ones 80-83
You have no room to Bitch!

Here we Go!!
oron

1969 Ft. Lewis Wa. Dad brought home empty M-76 Launchers.
All the time. Made G.I. Joes a lot funner.
Also some of the best L.B.E. gear a kid could want.

jakk280rem
December 28, 2012, 08:30 PM
Actually, the MRE might be more dangerous.

Only if you try to eat it.

http://www.gunbroker.com/Auction/ViewItem.aspx?Item=321433298
http://www.militaryantiquesmuseum.com/military_antiques.php?step=20&searchunder=prodid&searchfor=12886

looks like they're available on the open market. a quick Google search even showed a craigslist ad for one.

M-Cameron
December 28, 2012, 08:35 PM
Yup law launchers are a 1 shot shot deal... Once they are spent, they are literally no more dangerous than a postal mailing tube.