Speaking of Axis locks

PDA

rbernie
December 29, 2012, 10:18 AM
Have they shown any greater propensity for getting gummed up with dust or grime relative to liner locks?

I'm looking at my first one, and wondering how it'd do as an low-maintenance backcountry carry blade...

If you enjoyed reading about "Speaking of Axis locks" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
floorit76
December 29, 2012, 10:34 AM
I have carried the same 940 to work, and everywhere else for the last 5 years. It has never been apart. I just blow it out every now and then, maybe put a drop of oil on the pivot. I am an electrician, so it goes with me into trenches and backhoe holes, attics, crawlspaces, pretty much everywhere civilized people don't go. It has been utterly reliable. I thought I lost it one day, so I ordered another. Found it on the counter, so the new one is my "going to town " knife. Thinking about ordering a third, just in case.

rcmodel
December 29, 2012, 01:52 PM
Have they shown any greater propensity for getting gummed upNo, less in fact.
I have carried a 710 since the Axis-Lock was introduced and only had it fail one time.

A freak occurrence that could not ever happen, but did.
See this about that:
http://www.thehighroad.org/showthread.php?t=590697&highlight=magnetic+spring

Like floorit76, I sometimes flush it out good with WD-40 and blow it out with an air hose when I get a round tuit..

But it has never been apart for cleaning.

rc

ugaarguy
December 29, 2012, 08:29 PM
Carried a couple of them deployed to Iraq, and in garrison in the moon dust desert sand of SW Idaho. Dirt and dust fall back out of the mechanism as it's worked, and stick less than in lock backs and even liner locks.

mole
December 29, 2012, 10:51 PM