Yep! It's time for a picture thread!

PDA

heavyshooter
December 30, 2012, 05:13 PM
A friend recently treated me to a couple rounds of Trap Shooting. He brought his Benelli Supernova and a Beretta O/U (not sure of the model). I AM HOOKED!!! He beat me twice so now I have to get back at him. I am looking to buy a gun so I can practice and seek my revenge. I am using that as an excuse to have you post photos of you Skeet, Trap, and Sporting Clays shotguns. Also, please give me the reason you chose it. If you are unable to post a photo, then just give the make and model; along with the merits & vices of the gun.

I'm poor so my budget is about $700.00. Having seen that some guys are using guns that cost 10x that amount I can appreciate that my budget is low. But I am just getting started so give me a break.

Also, tell me about chokes. Which do I use for each discipline (Skeet, Trap, Sporting Clays)?

And, I noticed that most guys use Over/Under shotguns. Why are these beneficial over Pump Action and Semi-Auto.

Thanks,
Heavy

If you enjoyed reading about "Yep! It's time for a picture thread!" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
browningguy
December 30, 2012, 06:11 PM
A decent semi auto will fill the bill, or a real expert can do the same with a pump (but not most of us). The main advantage to an O/U os the ability to use 2 different chokes in sporting clays when you need them. Absolutely no advantage in skeet though. And I did shoot Browning O/U's for about 25 years before switching to semi's.