1st Amendment

PDA

USgunguy
January 11, 2013, 12:51 PM
I am relatively new to THR. What is the role of a moderator? I thought it would be to watch for abusive language and anything that may bring legal ramifications back to THR.

It seems clear to me that you try to control what is being discussed. I have noticed several attempts to snuff out conversations about the possible results of the current administration using EOs to control guns.

This is a genuine question, what is the goal of the moderator in locking threads that discuss certain topics? If you stop this one I have my answer and I will drop my membership.

If you enjoyed reading about "1st Amendment" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
BullfrogKen
January 11, 2013, 01:29 PM
Welcome to The High Road.

The Staff intends to allow freedom to discuss topics here, but there is no first amendment on THR. This is a privately owned board, and when it was founded the owner and the Staff decided to have a place that required a code of conduct for discussion, and that level of discourse exceeds most gun boards.

To ensure we live up to the ideal of a board where civil, focused discussion occurs the Staff may guide the discussion by direct input into it, or closing the discussion in cases where a conversation can't be salvaged.

If you have a problem with how a particular thread was handled, the usual course is to PM the Staff member who closed it or ask another for a second opinion.

We expect there to be an influx of new people because of the recent activities. Concurrently, we also expect there to be some learning curve as the new folks learn the differences between THR and other gun boards. If you didn't receive a warning or an infraction, consider it a learning experience.

USgunguy
January 11, 2013, 02:30 PM
It's Happening Folks - is the thread and I do not understand how the conduct in the discussion merited closing the thread.