how is bullet casting saving you money?

PDA

JBrady555
January 13, 2013, 04:15 PM
I'm new to researching about reloading and it all makes sense to me except for casting your own bullets. If a pound of lead is 7,000 grains then you could only make 30 230gr bullets. A pound of lead at midwayusa runs over 30 bucks. Why in the world would you do this? Also midstates has 230gr round nose bullets for 37.00/500. How are they selling them this cheap when you can only get 30 bullets out of a 1 pound blank of lead that you cast yourself?

If you enjoyed reading about "how is bullet casting saving you money?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
mcdonl
January 13, 2013, 04:19 PM
Reloading and casting is not as much about saving money as it is satisfaction for me. My lead is free anyway, I smelt to ingots over a wood fire. My only operating expense is running my small lee pot.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

NeuseRvrRat
January 13, 2013, 04:21 PM
don't buy lead by the pound from midway

Hungry1
January 13, 2013, 04:24 PM
I dug a bunch of bullets out of the dirt this weekend in about 15 mins.

I smelted them on a white-gas stove with approx $1 worth of fuel.

Gave me about 12 lbs of lead which = approx 525, 158gr 38 cal boolits for my efforts.

Works for me. :)

rcmodel
January 13, 2013, 04:26 PM
Well for starters, you don't by lead from Midway.

Many years ago, you could get all the car wheel-weights you wanted free from tire shops, filling stations, etc.
Plumbers lead sheet scrap could be had for not much more at salvage yards.

I still have more then I will be able to use the rest of my life.

It's not like that today, but if you are good at scrounging, you can still find affordable lead where you find it.

Some salvage yards are only paying .10 cents a pound for wheel-weights now.
So offer a tire shop .15 cents.

rc

CGT80
January 13, 2013, 04:27 PM