City/County Address Boxes on the Form 4473


PDA






Blackhawk30
January 18, 2013, 10:30 AM
I live in the county.Do I have to fill out the city box when I fill out the 4473?Before,when there was just a city box,I put my county in the city box.

If you enjoyed reading about "City/County Address Boxes on the Form 4473" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
dogtown tom
January 18, 2013, 10:46 AM
Even those who do not live within the actual city limits will have a "city" or town in their postal address.

I have a friend that lives just north of Big Bend National Park (Marfa, TX) and his "city" is 20+ miles away.

Ask your postmaster or use the zip code lookup at usps.com to find what cities are in your zip code.

Blackhawk30
January 18, 2013, 03:37 PM
Well this is the answer I've gotten before.There are no cities in my county.Period.The county name is what comes after the address.I wonder if it could be considered lying on the form by using the county name in the city and the conty box?
When I fill out the address part I use the same info that is on my DL and voter card.

Jim K
January 18, 2013, 03:48 PM
The last line of an address normally reads: "Smallville TX 78599". Whether "Smallville" is a town or a county, it goes in city space, and if it is the county it also goes in the county space.

It is interesting that the very same situation exists in an area that is hardly anyone's idea of rural - Arlington, VA, just across the river from DC. It is the "other half" of the 10 mile x 10 mile square that MD and VA ceded to the federal government for a capital. The Feds kept the MD part and it became the capital, but returned the VA portion, which became Arlington County, but with no towns or cities in it.

Jim

JohnBT
January 18, 2013, 08:00 PM
My experience in Virginia has been that the gun shop wants it filled out the way they've been told - and different regions have different federal employees looking over their shoulders.

I live in Richmond City. There is also a Richmond County an hour away. Incorporated Cities in Virginia are NOT part of a county. Depending on the region of the state and the decade, I've been told to do it a few different ways, so I just ask how they want it before I put pen to paper.

One time last year the gun store employee told me to write Richmond (City) and then write Henrico County (one of two adjacent counties to the City.) I'd never heard that one before, but that's what I did and I haven't lived in Henrico since 1973.

John

beatledog7
January 18, 2013, 08:21 PM
Another example of the Federal government trying to impose its standard on the States.

dogtown tom
January 18, 2013, 10:26 PM
Blackhawk30 ....There are no cities in my county...
So where the hell are you?:confused:

Ash
January 20, 2013, 02:49 PM
The name of the post office you use is used should you have no incorporated cities. Some counties have no incorporated cities.

mgkdrgn
January 20, 2013, 02:53 PM
I live in the county.Do I have to fill out the city box when I fill out the 4473?Before,when there was just a city box,I put my county in the city box.
you put down what ever is on your photo id (drivers license).

brboyer
January 20, 2013, 05:35 PM
you put down what ever is on your photo id (drivers license).
Actually you put down whatever is on your proof of address, which may or may not be your photo ID.

If you enjoyed reading about "City/County Address Boxes on the Form 4473" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!