Draco AK Help


PDA






srkavanagh6621
January 18, 2013, 04:48 PM
Hello,

Hopefully someone can help me out with the problem I am having. The gun will shoot one round just fine, it will cycle another round, but the hammer is not getting reset? If I cycle a round in manually it works fine and the hammer stays back, but as soon as a live round goes off, it ejects the cartridge picks up a new one and then the hammer does not get cocked. Any advice would be great, thanks! Sorry I am new to the AK world.

Thanks in advance,

Sam

If you enjoyed reading about "Draco AK Help" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
JustinJ
January 18, 2013, 05:05 PM
Given the hammer cocks when hand cycling it sounds like it may be undergassed so that the bolt carrier isn't traveling far enough back. I don't have mine in front of me to try to see if it can move far enough to strip and load a round but not reset the hammer but that's what i'm thinking. The front sight/gas block could be out of alignment or the gas port hole of the barrel may be too small. I would send it back for warranty repair of possible. What ammo are you using and have you tried any other? Hotter ammo may generate enough pressure in the gun but any standard AK ammo should work.

Unless possibly the recoil of firing and cycling is causing the hammer to release prematurely but i suspect it would be slam firing if this were the case.

ifit
January 18, 2013, 05:42 PM
what ammo? friends had trouble cycling this particular ammo, its black casing and also the bullet head and looks like really old surplus stuff.

mmitch
January 18, 2013, 09:58 PM
Is your gun clean, any lingering cosmoline?

Mike

TurtlePhish
January 19, 2013, 11:01 AM
First, check the gas system.

Next, check the disconnector. It might not have enough engagement with the hammer to keep it held back under the shock of firing, in which case you should replace it.

The disconnector spring could also be weak.

caribou
January 19, 2013, 01:30 PM
You should also check for chips and chunks missing from your hammer /sear engagument areas. Ive seen uneven hammer engaugemnet cut off at an angle father than straight across and the hammer rode the bolt down.

My wife had an SAR-3 Romainian AK that had a bad firing pin, the end was misformed, and the back of the bolt was just a tad long, so a new firing pin and a couple milimeters off tha back of the bolt and it chugged with perfection.

Her Draco is her favorite for easy packing Bear Protection.

srkavanagh6621
January 20, 2013, 11:34 PM
Thanks for the help, I put in a new disconnector spring which seemed to be the problem. I fired 3 mags through it without a hicup. Thanks again, I appreciate the help!

Sam1911
January 20, 2013, 11:43 PM
Actually, you also should check the placement of the mainspring legs on top of the trigger arms. If they don't BOTH rest on top of the trigger arms as they should, this can happen.

Most likely you put them back in the right place when you reassembled after installing the disco spring, and that's why it works now! :)

nfafan
January 21, 2013, 03:28 AM
Make sure the SAFETY is not accidently riding upwards due to recoil. It only takes a rat's eyelash movement to cause issues. I have 3 Romy's that do this...

Hizzie
January 21, 2013, 01:10 PM
Pics of your trigger/hammer/sear would help. Make sure the hammer and trigger pins are all the way in and that the "shepards hook" is properly retaining them.

dcarch
January 21, 2013, 11:17 PM
Gentlemen, please refer to post #7. :D

If you enjoyed reading about "Draco AK Help" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!