Rifle upper, M4 Barrel. To Dremel, or not?


PDA






braneu91
January 20, 2013, 03:37 AM
I have an upper and when I bought it I was told it had M4 extensions , but it doesn't. So I have heard you can still have an rifle upper and an M4 barrel, but it isn't ideal. I do have the skill I believe to cut out the feed ramp extensions. But before I do that I want to know if anyone has run an AR with that combo (Rifle upper, M4 barrel) and if they had any problems.

If you enjoyed reading about "Rifle upper, M4 Barrel. To Dremel, or not?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
BBBBill
January 20, 2013, 11:10 AM
You will be removing the anodizing when you cut those feed ramps. Assuming that you don't mess up the cuts while free-handing with a Dremel, are you willing to accept the potential wear to the upper from the rounds/case mouths continually hitting the raw aluminum surface? If it won't run well as is, might be better to pull the barrel, sell the upper receiver, and pick up one factory cut with anodizing intact.

carbine85
January 20, 2013, 12:06 PM
http://m14forum.com/m16-ar15/82656-m4-feed-ramps.html
You don't need the feed ramps as long as you have the correct set up. The ramps only help with full auto fire. I have 3 without ramps and never had a problem.

ApacheCoTodd
January 20, 2013, 01:11 PM
Show us a photo. I doubt that you need to - or even should - mess with it but, show us a photo.

backbencher
January 20, 2013, 01:16 PM
The problem would come if you had an upper w/ extensions, & a bbl that didn't. Your combination should work fine. The Army only added the upper cuts after they had problems w/ the M4 on full-auto - not semi.

braneu91
January 21, 2013, 01:12 PM
Thanks BBBBill I never thought about that. http://fc01.deviantart.net/fs70/i/2013/021/c/b/ar_15_feed_ramps_by_braneu-d5s89f6.jpg There is an image. It seems fine right now (Not torqued down yet should be today.) I was just wondering if there was any reliability problems related to having a Rifle upper and M4 barrel. Thanks Guys.

1911 guy
January 22, 2013, 04:14 AM
You're fine. The problem can be, as stated by backbencher, with an M4 cut upper reciever and an A2 cut barrel. The nose of the bullet begins traveling through the cut in the reciever and hangs up on the barrel extension. You, however, have the opposite of this and shouldn't have any problems. In fact, I have a 16" rifle set up for HD with the same thing, A2 reciever and M4 barrel. No problems to date.

If you enjoyed reading about "Rifle upper, M4 Barrel. To Dremel, or not?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!