which is better/1858 or 1860

PDA

Lilbigun2958
January 22, 2013, 04:12 AM
hi yall,i'm a newbie here & it's been a long time since i've shot any black powder & most of it was rifles.i'd like to get into rifles & pistols now & would like to know which model would be better:the 1858 or the 1860 in the steel frame for either???also would like any info on a revolving rifle in black powder.thanks.

If you enjoyed reading about "which is better/1858 or 1860" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
rio nueces
January 22, 2013, 05:51 AM
The new Pietta Remington, 5 1/2 inch, .44. Steel frame of course. With a full chamber of Pyrodex P, no wad, roundball, I can hit a pie plate off the bench two out of three at 50 yards all day. You do have to take out the cylinder after 12 shots or so and wipe it all down.
And I did not modify a thing on it, except for smoothing some sharp edges.
Handles great,stronger than Colt copy. No ' wedges'.

robert garner
January 22, 2013, 06:25 AM
Properly set up there is little to no difference.
It is more probable to buy a Remington that is properly set up "out of the box" than a Colt.
You will be well served to compare them side by side Aesthetics,ergonomics and go with the one that appeals to you the best, any faults that you may detect, in either, could with some research and care be handled by yourself(gunsmiths love us for this)Personally I've always chosen the Colt.
robert

Fiv3r
January 22, 2013, 08:16 AM
Both;)

Although I gravitate toward the Remington. That 5.5" barrel is a sweet shooter.

StrawHat
January 22, 2013, 08:27 AM
This is similar to the Ford/Chevy debate or 9mm/45ACP argument. Lots of opinions but few facts will be presented!

Personally, I prefer the 1860. With the long barrel and factory sights, it is great for plinking and small game.

tpelle
January 22, 2013, 09:25 AM