Running blanks in the M4


PDA






backbencher
January 27, 2013, 03:41 PM
Any magic way of making Army blanks cycle the M4 bolt, other than screwing the blank adapter down so tight it damages the crown? Running it damp w/ MilTec.

If you enjoyed reading about "Running blanks in the M4" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
rcmodel
January 27, 2013, 03:57 PM
Make sure you have an M4 blank adaptor, and not one for an M16.

Red M16 adaptor:
http://www.armyproperty.com/nsn/1005-00-118-6192

Yellow M4 adaptor:
http://www.armyproperty.com/nsn/1005-01-361-8208

rc

backbencher
January 27, 2013, 04:53 PM
Yep, yep, it's yellow. Hammer, bbl work fine, just no gas powered ejection/cocking/reloading cycle. Shot M855 just fine @ the range. Screw it down w/ the Leatherman & risk damaging the crown, or accept training w/ a straight-pull bolt action?

paintballdude902
January 27, 2013, 05:59 PM
make sure your gun is spotless and oiled well. ive had trouble with this at work too, PITA.

backbencher
January 28, 2013, 08:39 PM
Tightening the screw against the crown w/ a Leatherman & adding more MilTec did the trick until a failure to feed - standard for blanks.

paintballdude902
January 30, 2013, 02:40 AM
glad to hear it. i ran 5 mags of it tonight and sat down and cleaned it then coated it in mpro7

If you enjoyed reading about "Running blanks in the M4" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!