Pedersoli Howdah: To buy, or not to buy?

PDA

Packman
January 30, 2013, 10:24 PM
So I've been drooling over the Howdah ever since I started shooting BP a couple of years ago, but I've never been able to justify the cost. I just checked Cabelas website, and the 20x20 Howdah is on sale for $650. Normal price is 750. Now, I know I shouldn't blow 650$ on another gun right now, but I really really want to. So, a couple questions for y'all.

1-Is that a pretty decent price that I should jump on?
2-What accessories am I going to need to get up and running with this beast? (holster and such can wait a while)
3-Anything I should know about the Howdah?
4-Talk to me about shooting one with a shoulder stock vs. freehand.
5-20ga slugs out of this one? Is that going to be a realistic shooting experience? I see the .58 rifled barrel is no longer carried by Cabelas.

My current experience with BP is playing with an 1858 NMA and an 1851 Navy Sheriff.

I have no illusions of hitting anything with it, but words can not express the level of pleasure I would take in annoying the codgers at the local trap range with something like this. Just one round, that's all I ask. :neener:

If you enjoyed reading about "Pedersoli Howdah: To buy, or not to buy?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
EljaySL
January 30, 2013, 11:29 PM
That's been on my black powder list for a while but I haven't quite gotten there yet. So take this all with a grain of salt.

1. Probably. I *think* I've seen it as low as $600 but wouldn't swear to it. Dixie has all the different configurations for $750.
2. Powder, caps, cleaning stuff. If shooting patched ball you'll need patches and balls. If shooting shot or balls with cards you'll need shot or a ball and cards.
3. I've heard that there's a problem with side by sides where you shoot one side and the ball on the other side will end up moving, so whatever you do needs to be pretty secure.