30-06 for a 13 year old?

PDA

alfon99
February 13, 2013, 07:15 PM
Hey, I'm getting my first centerfire rifle and I would like to know what do you think about getting a 30-06. Recoil is my main concern. I've been shooting .22's since I'm 3 and when I was 6 I started shooting a 16 gauge shotgun my grandma gave me (yes, my grandma) and I can handle the recoil with no problem. The thing is that I'm not sure how stronger the 30-06 recoil is compared to the 16 gauge. Maybe a recoil pad would help? I will be hunting wild boar, It's full of them where I live.

If you enjoyed reading about "30-06 for a 13 year old?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Adk Mike
February 13, 2013, 07:21 PM
I shoot reduced loaded 30-06 all the time. I shoot a lot and have no interest in factory loads. Cast suits me fine. I'd bet they would do great on hogs. I say the 06 is they way to go.

Isaac-1
February 13, 2013, 07:22 PM
I don't own any 16 gauge shotguns, just 12 and 20 gauge, but I would say a typical 30-06 will have a felt recoil in the same ballpark (depending on how powerful of load the shotgun had).

p.s. keep in mind 13 is just when the typical teen age growth spurt tends to start so if 30-06 is too much this year, there is plenty of time to grow into it.

radiotom
February 13, 2013, 07:24 PM
How big are you?

ihctractor
February 13, 2013, 07:26 PM
First of all, you've got a cool Grandma!!!!