Cut the H&R 12ga to 18.5" and made a halo sight...

February 17, 2013, 09:59 PM
I started a thread a bit ago about cutting down the H&R my Dad gave me. It's not a sentimental gun, he didn't like it and I was going to buy one... It originally had a rough "V" filed into the receiver in the incorrect position and the barrel was quite bent :what: It patterned like this at 14 yards (just 8 BBs in the 8" circle at 25 yards).

I have access to a Bridgeport mill where I work (I am now an engineer, but worked my way up through the shop while I went to school), so I decided to chop the barrel and possibly send it in to H&R for a new barrel fitting if this is too loud for me. The muzzle was milled at 18.500" (+/- .001") and deeply chamfered. I put a new "bead" on it at 18.25", a stainless 4-40 socket head cap screw that I can easily switch out for something taller/shorter to "sight" it in. If I need to change the POA left/right, I can remove still another 1/4" from the barrel and reinstall a new bead. The homemade halo sight is made from a piece of 3/8" x 3/8" steel, it has a .168" hole in it. I patterned it after the XS sight I have on my 1894, but with a thicker ring for a quicker pickup. The rear sight is installed into the receiver by way of a precision cut 3/8" wide groove and a 6-32 flat head cap screw. I fit the wood a bit better and refinished it. My last part of this project is to find a 1" recoil pad I can fit to the stock.

I did the halo sight just for the fun of (I wanted to remove the filed V in the receiver because it was incorrect and bothered me). The location of the sight is based loosely on how the gun patterned above. I did not expect the gun to point as naturally as it does, it mounts like a dream. I have no intention of using this gun for anything long range, the only use that halo may get is buckshot or slugs, but of course that depends on if I can get it sighted in. The slugs will have to wait until I get that buttpad and some weight in the stock.