So I blew up a 1911 (Kaboom)

PDA

essayons21
February 18, 2013, 02:24 PM
*Updated- Looks like it wasn't a double charge... check Page 4*

A cautionary tale for those getting into progressive reloading...

I have been reloading for about 6 years now. I started with a Lee hand press, moved up to a single stage bench mounted press, got a second single stage and have been loading many thousands of rounds in all calibers. In all that time I have had precisely one bad round that did not get any powder. In the same time I have had a higher failure rate from factory loaded ammo.

So I recently sold some factory ammo at inflated prices and purchased a Hornady LnL AP press. It took some searching to find shellplates, but I quickly got everything set up and loaded up about 100 .38 Special, half plate WC and half lead RN, and about 250 rounds of .45 ACP, half 230gr lead RN, half 200 gr lead flat nose.

I went to the range last week, and after spending a few hours on the rifle range, headed over to the pistol side. Burned up a couple hundred .22lr with no issues other than a "new to me" Single Six splitting cases on some 50 year old .22 ammo. I then tested out my .38 loads, getting some outstanding accuracy from a 2" J-frame. No issues.

Then I loaded up a magazine of my .45 reloads. They were 230gr Proofmark lead RN over 5.9 gr of Hodgdon Clays Universal, a load I have been using for years. Hornady lists a max load of 6.2 gr for this combo. I was shooting an older Para 14.45. I fired the first round, then two in quick succession, then the fourth. Recoil felt funny, I felt something hit me in the face, heard the magazine hit the ground, and I looked down to see this...

http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q177/collingscb/photobucket-8267-1361210302173_zpsa9088455.jpg