Hk p7 ????

PDA

rcmodel
February 18, 2013, 09:34 PM
How necessary is the gas cylinder scraper tool and the firing pin tool to a P7 owner?

A friend bought one at a gun show yesterday, but didn't know about the tools that should have come with it.
And he didn't get them.

Seems to me a bore brush would clean the gas cylinder, and a coin would remove the firing pin assembly just fine.

What say you P7 owners??

rc

If you enjoyed reading about "Hk p7 ????" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
hAkron
February 18, 2013, 10:19 PM
Top gun supply sells one as well
http://www.topgunsupply.com/hk-p7-brushes-scrapers/
It's expensive for what it is, but the gas port gets really dirty really fast. If he's going to shoot it much, it's a must. You can get away with a .270 bore brush once its scraped.

Also, it's said that the after market scrapers are not good. I have no experience.

The firing pin tool is unnessasary.

bannockburn
February 18, 2013, 11:18 PM
The scraper and a bore brush are a must as I remember the gas port getting really dirty after firing just 100 rounds at the range.

kBob
February 18, 2013, 11:53 PM
rc,

The origial PSP did not come with a cylinder scraper. I did just fine without one for hundreds or perhaps a thousand rounds without problem.....

Then one day, fortunately on the range goofing off, the slide stopped going back far enough to pick up the next cartridge. I used a worn out .30 cal bore brush and then a sloted wooden stick with a piece of the old lead out cloth through it on a hand drill, then another stick with a piece just shoved in under the tip of the stick.

After that I took more effort to check and clean the cylinder and the piston.

It was my favorite 9 silly meter. It was stolen and I can but hope the thugs sold it to some folks that eventually got it to a good guy that appreciates it.....or they paniced and threw it in the St. John's River and no thug has it.