Thoughts on a Tip-up Barrel Pistol

PDA

2BlessU
March 2, 2013, 06:34 PM
First off, I am a female newbie, looking for trusted information. I purchased a new Diamond Back 380 which I had issues with and returned. The slide was difficult for me to operate, and after firing 4 rounds it would not eject the used cartridge.

Since then, I learned I should try to hold the slide still with my non dominate hand and use my dominate hand to push the bottom forward.

I have seen some of the tip-up barrel pistols in which one can auto load the first bullet, such as the Beretta Cheetah .380. I am looking for something I will be able to operate yet use for concealed carry. I want to know, if I need to protect myself or anyone else, I can operate it and it will take care of business.

Are there other pistols that have the tip-up barrel?

Thanks in advanced for your suggestions. :)

If you enjoyed reading about "Thoughts on a Tip-up Barrel Pistol" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
montgomery381
March 2, 2013, 06:42 PM
There is also the Beretta Tomcat in .32 acp. But I think .32 is a little light. However, something is better than nothing. Did you try any 9mm's?

steveno
March 2, 2013, 06:45 PM
I think Taurus makes some pistols with tip up barrels but I would stick with Beretta. they have been making them for a long time and they work

Fleetman
March 2, 2013, 06:47 PM
my wife has troubles operating any slides and finally settled on a Beretta Tomcat....although a .32acp and considered too light, it still beats a rock or harsh language. What works best for her though is her S&W 360 revolver loaded with .38 Special +P's.

Good for you for acknowledging difficulties with working a slide....if you can't work it reliably EVERY time, then it's not right for you. A revolver ended up being ideal for my wife and it's as concealable as any small auto on the market. Hope this helps!

Rom828
March 2, 2013, 06:52 PM