Revising knife law in Tennessee


PDA






hso
March 4, 2013, 09:58 AM
http://www.thehighroad.org/showthread.php?p=8785611#post8785611

That's the thread detailing a new effort to remove the blade length restrictions and the restrictions on switchblades in TN.

You can cross the county line and be in violation of a blade length restriction just by traveling to visit family or do business currently. This legislation would correct that error. It will also remove the outdated rules on switchblades and permit your GA/KY/NC legal knife to be carried.

This legislation needs our support.

If you enjoyed reading about "Revising knife law in Tennessee" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
lobo9er
March 4, 2013, 06:06 PM
thanks for link I have family in Tenn. I wasn't aware there were blade restrictions there. I will pass this along to them if they haven't heard about it yet

telomerase
March 4, 2013, 09:10 PM
I would post the link to the NH knife laws...

...but we don't have any.

hso
March 4, 2013, 09:53 PM
You don't have any thanks to the efforts of folks like Knife Rights that worked with Jenn Coffey to get rid of them.

Perhaps a little help for Knife Rights in TN would be useful as those of us that are members of Knife Rights gave a wee bit of help there.

telomerase
March 6, 2013, 09:33 PM
Jenn Coffey

I worked on her campaigns :D

hso
March 28, 2013, 08:47 PM
We have movement on this bill. Now we need to focus on the final push.

Thanks to our phone calls and emails Tennessee Representative Mike Harrison has agreed to hear HB0581 the Tennessee Knife Rights Bill, on April 3. It is important to contact him and THANK him for agreeing to hear the bill and also to ask him to vote YES on HB0581 when it is heard.

His email address is: rep.mike.harrison@capitol.tn.gov His office phone is 615- 741-7480

THEN it is CRITICAL that you contact the following members of the committee to ask them to vote YES when it is heard on April 3.
Rep. David Alexander - rep.david.alexander@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-8695
Rep. Joe Armstrong - rep.joe.armstrong@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-0768
Rep. Kevin Brooks - rep.kevin.brooks@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-1350
Rep. Lois DeBerry - rep.lois.deberry@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-3830
Rep, Craig Fitzhugh - rep.craig.fitzhugh@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-2134
Rep. David Hawk - rep.david.hawk@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-7482
Rep. Gerald McCormick - rep.gerald.mccormick@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-2548
Rep. Steve McDaniel - rep.steve.mcdaniel@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-0750
Rep. Gary Odom - rep.gary.odom@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-4410
Rep. Dennis Roach - rep.dennis.roach@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-2534
Rep. Charles Sargent - rep.charles.sargent@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-6808

HB0581 would change the existing law to allow possession of all automatic/switchblade knives and enact knife law preemption which would make the state the sole authority on knife laws, which will create consistency throughout Tennessee.

Please contact Rep Harrison and the others on the committee NOW if you live in or travel to/through Tennessee!

22-rimfire
April 1, 2013, 12:46 PM
Thanks HSO for the links. I contacted my reps. Admittedly the switch blade law is kind of ridiculous these days, but they could go the other way.

hso
April 1, 2013, 02:12 PM
It may be useful to point out that the current technology has made the switchblade law quant and outdated, as well as loosing tax money on sales. Since current Federal law makes imported switchblades illegal they'd be supporting American workers as well as updating the law by voting YES on HB0581.

DAdams
April 1, 2013, 11:19 PM
I have been pursuing and encouraging my Representatives. They both voted yes on the SB.

kim breed
April 2, 2013, 09:27 AM
outdated for a long time. local law enforcement have been complaining about it for years. Bill needs to be updated.

hso
April 2, 2013, 11:09 AM
It only takes a few minutes to call everyone on the list and simply say, "Hi, I'd want to encourage the Representative to support HB0581, the Tennessee Knife Rights bill."

hso
April 6, 2013, 09:37 AM
Once more into the breach...

HB0581 cleared the House Finance Subcommittee and is now on the agenda for a full House Finance Committee vote next week! :D

We now need to call and email Chairman Sargent and each one of the House Finanace Committee members and ask them to please vote YES on HB0581.

According to the legislative analysis, HB0581 has "no significant fiscal impact" on the state of Tennessee and therefore there is no reason why the Finance Committee shouldn't pass this bill. However, it still received 5 NO votes in the sub-committee! That is a dangerous message to the full Committee.

Please be sure to contact everyone on this list, then get your friends, family and anyone else you know to call and email also!!!

When calling and writing, simply ask them to vote in favor of HB0581, remind them that the legislative analysis says it has "no significant fiscal impact", and you could also remind them that SB1015, the companion bill in the Tennessee Senate, has already passed 27-3. Keep your calls and emails POLITE, short and to the point.

Here's the contact information for everyone we need to inundate with calls and emails. Let's have them come in Monday morning to full in boxes!

Chairman, Rep. Charles Sargent - rep.charles.sargent@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-6808
Rep. David Alexander - rep.david.alexander@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-8695
Rep. Joe Armstrong - rep.joe.armstrong@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-0768
Rep. Kevin Brooks - rep.kevin.brooks@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-1350
Rep. Kent Calfee - rep.kent.calfee@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-7658
Rep. Mike Carter - rep.mike.carter@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-3025
Rep. Barbara Cooper - rep.barbara.cooper@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-4295
Rep. Lois DeBerry - rep.lois.deberry@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-3830
Rep, Craig Fitzhugh - rep.craig.fitzhugh@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-2134
Rep. Steve Hall - rep.steve.hall@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-2287
Rep. Mike Harrison - rep.mike.harrison@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-7480
Rep. David Hawk - rep.david.hawk@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-7482
Rep. Matthew Hill - rep.matthew.hill@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-2251
Rep. Curtis Johnson - rep.curtis.johnson@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-4341
Rep. Gerald McCormick - rep.gerald.mccormick@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-2548
Rep. Steve McDaniel - rep.steve.mcdaniel@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-0750
Rep. Larry Miller - rep.larry.miller@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-4453
Rep. Gary Odom - rep.gary.odom@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-4410
Rep. Dennis Roach - rep.dennis.roach@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-2534
Rep. Johnny Shaw - rep.johnny.shaw@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-4538

Deltaboy
April 7, 2013, 02:11 PM
Keep pushing.

If you enjoyed reading about "Revising knife law in Tennessee" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!