I need a spotting scope under $300

PDA

jcerillo70
March 5, 2013, 10:22 PM
Hey guys,

In mid may i am doing a high power clinic, and it requires a spotting scope.

so i have some time but i wanted to get some recommendations before hand.

We have a 300 yard range so that would be the max distance.

So i need a spotting scope for that, which is my max of 300 yards.

im new to long range so any help is appreciated

Thanks!

If you enjoyed reading about "I need a spotting scope under $300" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
ol' dixie
March 6, 2013, 08:08 AM
The folks at Champion's Choice stock several brands, and they are extremely knowledgeable about High Power shooting.

www.champchoice.com/

wally247
March 6, 2013, 12:34 PM
Redfield might be a brand to check out. They are made by Luepold.

I helped my dad pick this one out a few weeks ago for $229 that's $60 less than MSRP from the local sporting goods store.

http://www.redfield.com/spottingscopes/

JRH6856
March 6, 2013, 01:21 PM
And then there is this one from Harbor Freight (http://www.harborfreight.com/20-60-x-60mm-spotting-scope-with-tripod-94555.html)...$49.99

JRH6856
March 6, 2013, 04:33 PM
By coincidence, the Harbor Freight spotting scope arrived shortly after I posted. The scope seems ok. Sharp, clear. holds focus through the 20-60 zoom range. If it isn't abused, it will probably do OK for the range. Not sure how long it would last in the field.

The tripod is crap. It's really too flimsy to hold the scope steady as the head is made of molded plastic and flexes too much. I'm not sure it is even suitable for a pocket camera. Fortunately, I have several good metal tripods.

Teachu2
March 6, 2013, 05:17 PM
http://www.opticsplanet.com/tasco-20-60x60-world-class-ep-45-spotting-scope-wc20606045.html

http://compare.ebay.com/like/380537090545?var=lv&ltyp=AllFixedPriceItemTypes&var=sbar