Old Lyman Spartan press

PDA

Wilbert
March 7, 2013, 10:49 PM
Hi all
A friend of mine found an old lyman spartan in the trunk of a car he is restoring. He gave it to me, but I have not gotten into reloading yet. I've got some dies lying around, and fortunately the RCBS dies fit, but the press is missing a part or two. It doesn't have the primer feeding arm at the top. Is this necessary, or is it better just to use a hand primer? Will other primer assemblies work with this press?

I'm a total noob to reloading. I plan on mainly reloading for a few pistols, then when I get more comfortable I want to start loading for .308 and .223 (if components ever show back up on the shelves :eek:)

anyway, any info on this press and any advice for a newbie reloader would be appreciated. Thanks :)

If you enjoyed reading about "Old Lyman Spartan press" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Tolkachi Robotnik
March 7, 2013, 11:20 PM
The little Lee tool really works for priming. You don't have to find an obsolete item to get that part of the job done. Lee tools are low expense and work.

I use old presses and they do not speed up the process very much. They can still make good shells. I would say the price is right!

I have a Lyman scale and am not impressed by it. It was supposed to go over an ounce but did not really work for that from day one. I talked to a rep once and he said bend the bar. I have not bent the bar. I will buy no more Lyman gear, there are other options that have better track records for me.

My father has a Lyman turret press and it works very well.

If doing pistols get carbide dies. I do not load pistols but have heard this from everyone. I would say pistols are hard and unforgiving to start on, because many headspace on the case mouth and cartridge case length has to be perfect on all rounds, as well overall length has to be long enough, never too short or pressures can spike.