ProMag and AR problems?


PDA






mooradian
March 13, 2013, 03:57 PM
Just got a brand new bushmaster xm15. Have metal mags that work perfectly. However, just bought a black polymer promag that worked fine at first but now won't even chamber a round. My bolt keeps getting stuck on the mag and I have to pull it out and the bolt slams forward. Again no other problems with other mags. AR is in perfect condition, took it apart, cleaned and everything.

Any thoughts? Should I file down the back a little bit? It seems the bolt is catching on the back of the mag.

EDIT: the round I was testing just smashed into the space below the chamber. I've figured out that the bolt is fine. It is smooth with no round in. But with a round it jams?

If you enjoyed reading about "ProMag and AR problems?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
SabbathWolf
March 13, 2013, 03:59 PM
Just say "NO" to Pro Mag anything.
I don't know how else to say that without sounding rude.

:(

Robert
March 13, 2013, 04:05 PM
You can file on the mag but chances are something else will go wrong with it. Chuck it out and call it a learning experience.

Fishbed77
March 13, 2013, 04:22 PM
Every Pro-Mag product I've ever seen is trash.

Their whole business model is based on assuming uninformed consumers will buy their products based on the cheap price alone.

W L Johnson
March 13, 2013, 04:26 PM
Pro-Mag posts should be limited to only when someone actually has one that works worth a damn.

mljdeckard
March 13, 2013, 04:29 PM
My SKS promag works very well. I have never tried any of their AR mags.

Jhass
March 13, 2013, 04:32 PM
Only load 25 or so rounds until you have it broken in.

Pro mag is cheap but mine are usable after I left them fully loaded for a week or so.

joeschmoe
March 13, 2013, 04:43 PM
I use USGI only.

mljdeckard
March 13, 2013, 04:45 PM
I have plenty of G.I. mags, but I replaced the followers and springs in them. I mostly use pmags.

mooradian
March 13, 2013, 05:04 PM
Wasn't aware of promags ****ty rep. This is my first AR and I've been an AK guy and their mags worked great for AKs... Ill load em up and let em sit and see what happens

Ratshooter
March 13, 2013, 05:09 PM
Pro-Mag posts should be limited to only when someone actually has one that works worth a damn.

I have nine 20 rounders for my mini-14 and they all work perfectly. Those are the only Pro-Mags I have ever bought. But don't get me started on USA Mags.:cuss:

mooradian
March 13, 2013, 05:20 PM
folks on PAFOA.org advised me to keep bolt open then release with magazine in.

the first round got slammed into the front of the receiver and actually SENT THE BULLET down into the propellant area of the cartridge... ***

HOOfan_1
March 13, 2013, 06:09 PM
Every Pro-Mag product I've ever seen is trash.

Their whole business model is based on assuming uninformed consumers will buy their products based on the cheap price alone.

I went to three gun shops today looking to by an M&P 40 (they were either all gone or overpriced)

The only AR mags I saw in stock where Pro-Mags for ~$20. Ruger packaged 30 round Pmags for $33 (that shop said the were trying to keep the pre-panic prices....um yeah, you only jacked up the price by $10...) and loose and used USGI Mags for $30 (again...yeah, you did jack up the price).

There were tons of Pro-mags....people are obviously avoiding them like the plague

mooradian
March 13, 2013, 06:42 PM
So promag is junk as I can see...

Another issue; when I have a full mag or 3/4 full mag in my metal mag, I am getting the same type of problem yet not so severe... I think it may have been because I rode the bolt forward.

SabbathWolf
March 13, 2013, 08:21 PM
So promag is junk as I can see...

Another issue; when I have a full mag or 3/4 full mag in my metal mag, I am getting the same type of problem yet not so severe... I think it may have been because I rode the bolt forward.
Never ride a bolt carrier....ever.
Pull it to the rear and just let it fly.

joeschmoe
March 13, 2013, 08:24 PM
There's a forward assist button too.

briansmithwins
March 13, 2013, 09:34 PM
There's nothing wrong with Promag that smashing it with a rock won't fix.

Don't keep crappy mags.

BSW

justice06rr
March 13, 2013, 10:04 PM
I have one of the 42-round Promags but I fortunately bought prepanic for $13. I intended it for T&E, and sure enough it jams my AR's. I believe its their design; a video on Youtube suggested that you file down the back part of the mag behind the feed lips. I did that and it still jams.

Now its just a cool looking paperweight. I posted it up for sale and no one has even posted any interest in it.

Unka-Boo
March 13, 2013, 10:24 PM
There's nothing wrong with Promag that smashing it with a rock won't fix.

Don't keep crappy mags.

BSW


C'mon, mine worked great for like two whole rounds....

mooradian
March 18, 2013, 06:41 PM
figured out the problem.

after taking the gun to a gunsmith he pointed out that the feed ramps of my upper are not M4-style; somebody slapped an M4 barrel on this Bushy and apparently the feed ramps won't feed non-military ammo (they are M16-style) since the neck of the shell on civvie ammo isn't crimped.

Which... doesn't make any sense now that I think about it considering that my metal mags work.

Going to buy a new upper w/ barrel and BCG assembly in the near future.

HOOfan_1
March 18, 2013, 06:47 PM
No, that doesn't make sense...because if the barrel extension has M4 feed ramps, it should work fine whether or not the upper has them....rifle feed ramps on a barrel extension, might not work with an upper which has them though.....

http://img169.imageshack.us/img169/9819/feedramps2.jpg

mooradian
March 18, 2013, 07:08 PM
bottom right is exactly what I have.. maybe they or I explained it incorrectly.

So an M4 upper would do the trick?

HOOfan_1
March 18, 2013, 07:28 PM
Probably not, as the picture shows...the bottom right should work fine.....throwing away your promag would probably do the trick though

mooradian
March 18, 2013, 07:45 PM
will have to take another look

TheLostOtter
March 18, 2013, 09:26 PM
If your other mags work and the pro-mag doesn't, that should tell you something. Just use your other mags, nothing is wrong with your rifle.

If you enjoyed reading about "ProMag and AR problems?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!