Anyone a member of a police/sheriff auxilliary unit?

PDA

pignock
March 13, 2004, 01:40 PM
I'm thinking about joining the local (Tazewell County, Illinois) sheriff's auxilliary unit and I'd like to hear from any current or past part-timers from anywhere, but Illinois info would be extra helpful.

I'm looking at this as a "giving back to the community" kind of thing so if the comments are generally negative, I'll choose a different venue towards which to donate my energy.

OK, let's hear it - good, bad, ugly and indifferent....

Thanks in advance,

Keith

If you enjoyed reading about "Anyone a member of a police/sheriff auxilliary unit?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Gunpacker
March 14, 2004, 12:24 AM
I was a reserve officer in FL for 15 years. I had a great time. You need to be sure that you are willing to place yourself in danger for little reward though. The monetary rewards are few. We were paid little, but did get reasonable pay for special duty security details. It certainly does break up the normal humdrum life most of us lead, and I always looked forward to the adrenaline rush of police work.
Try it and you'll probably be hooked. If you don't like it, quitting is easy.
Most of our officers served for quite a while, with few washing out without several years of service. Many were there longer than me.
Only you can answer, and sounds like you have the desire.

roo_ster
March 14, 2004, 12:31 AM
Thinking about doing the same here, for the same reason.

I have never lived in one place for as long as I've been at my present location. I want to get to know it better and work to improve it. "The rootless sinking roots," if you will.