CZ or Savage

PDA

kyhunter
March 17, 2013, 07:57 PM
I am in the market for a new rimfire. Id look everyones views for and against these two options... Im looking for .22 magnum especially. Im also open to caliber debates (as long as its rimfire) but keep it clean to each his own. Ive owned .17 savages and it didnt really wow me.

The gun needs to be accurate enough for fairly long 50-100 yard varmint shots.

If you enjoyed reading about "CZ or Savage" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
ECVMatt
March 17, 2013, 08:12 PM
Not to throw another dog in the fight, but I have a couple of Ruger 77/22 Mags and they are great! They are super accurate, I love the magazine, I like how the safety locks the bolt closed, and they feel like real adult sized rifles.

I also have a CZ 452 and it is a very nice rifle. It tends to have more sharp edges, but shoots great. I have limited experience with Savages, but the one I had the most with failed to extract quite regularly. I know the extractor is an easy part to replace and Savage stands behind their rifles, but it irked me that it came that way. Of the two you are specifically looking at, I would go with the CZ.

ford8nr
March 17, 2013, 08:13 PM
I have a CZ452 Varmit in 22lr and love it. It's my steel siloutte gun out to 100m offhand. Off a bag I can clink (22lr version of CLANK) a 12" plate at 242yds 9 out of 10 shots.

ford8nr
March 17, 2013, 08:16 PM
Ohhh...Ruger 77/22M that's dirty pool throwing that one in. I LOVE the 77/22's.

303tom
March 17, 2013, 08:19 PM
Savage, buy America...................

redneck2
March 17, 2013, 08:23 PM
My S-I-L has a target model Savage with the Accu-Trigger and I have a 453 CZ with the single set trigger. Either would suit me for accuracy and function. Last time out I shot .2's at 50 yards with the CZ loaded with Wolf Match.

I had a 77/22 in .22 Hornet. It went away. Gonna replace it with a CZ some time this summer.