New AR-15: Frequent Double-Feeds

PDA

rainbowbob
March 19, 2013, 03:59 PM
I am new to this platform. In fact, having been strictly a revolver owner for years - I'm new to semi-autos.

I purchased a Colt AR-15 the day Obama made his first post-Sandyhook speech. I only paid a $300 mark-up - instead of the 100% mark-up that is now common.

I have only shot a couple hundred rounds so far (at most). I am getting a double-feed nearly every magazine! Is it the magazine? Does the rifle just need to be broken in? Is it the ammo?

I have a few other magazines available both new and used, and I'll be running those in turn ASAP.

If you enjoyed reading about "New AR-15: Frequent Double-Feeds" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
holdencm9
March 19, 2013, 04:23 PM
Do you mean two live rounds trying to feed from the mag? Then: Most likely mags. What kind of mag? Try Magpul Pmags if you haven't. Don't mess around with confusingly-named promags or any of those cheapo ones. AR shouldn't need any break-in period as long as you gave it a decent cleaning and have it lubed up well.

If you mean the spent casing is still partly in the chamber then a new round tries to go in, that can have other causes.

briansmithwins
March 19, 2013, 04:30 PM
Double feed or is the extractor losing control of the round and trying to feed 1 empty case and 1 loaded cartridge?

What type of rifle? Carbine or what?

Agree that real doublefeeds are most likely due to a bad mag.

BSW

Auto426
March 19, 2013, 04:56 PM
Magazines are more often than not the culprit when it comes to feed problems in an AR. What mags were you using with the gun, and which ones were giving you trouble?

jerkface11
March 19, 2013, 05:19 PM
Number each of your magazine with a marker. That way you can keep track of which one is causing the problems.

1KPerDay
March 19, 2013, 06:40 PM
Is it the magazine? Does the rifle just need to be broken in? Is it the ammo?