Pistol Bullet Shapes & Weights?

PDA

Triumph
March 19, 2013, 08:33 PM
Ok guys - I'm a newbie and not afraid to ask. I've done a bunch of reading but still a little unclear on the following.

I ordered a bunch of Berry's plated bullets in RN (124gr & 230gr) because thats what my factory ammo has (shape & weight). I just figured I'd reload what I shot.

So hear is the question. In looking at Missouri Bullets what about all the other shapes & weights and when you would want to use them? For example, when would you use a 185gr instead of a 230 in 45 ACP?

Not sure if the SWCs have any difficulty chambering in different pistols but here is what I am shooting.

45ACP:
Springfield XDS
Kimber Pro
HK45
Springfield XDM

9mm:
Kimber Solo
PF9
Springfield XDM

I think bds has a picture of all the different offerings.

Thanks much for any help.

If you enjoyed reading about "Pistol Bullet Shapes & Weights?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
rcmodel
March 19, 2013, 08:47 PM
For example, when would you use a 185gr instead of a 230 in 45 ACP?Bullseye paper punching with very light loads.

Some guns will feed light SWC's, and others won't without some gunsmithing.

Springfield XD's seem to be adverse to SWC, and there isn't much you can do about it.

1911's will work fine, but may require throating and mag mods to feed them.

Overall, you can't go wrong with the 'standard' bullet weight L RN bullets though.

rc

Motownfire
March 19, 2013, 08:48 PM
I also load the same weight bullet as what I used to buy in factory ammo. As for my G23 & G27 I have always carried 180gr hp's so that's what I load. I buy all my lead from Missouri Bullet Co.

I'm sure someone will come up with a more technical/scientific explanation than me, but if you want a faster (FPS) round then load a lighter grain bullet. If you want a slower (FPS) round then load a heavier grain bullet.