80 series parts

PDA

Coldfinger
March 20, 2013, 11:34 PM
While I understand what I just don't understand why. I am talking about the 80 series firing pin safety BS. Is it just me or are the 80 series parts a PITA? I have seen kits that replace the 80 series parts. So I guess my question is two part.
How do the kits work?
Doesn't it just replace two small pita parts with other small pita parts?:banghead:

If you enjoyed reading about "80 series parts" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
tarosean
March 21, 2013, 03:49 AM
A true series 80 or Kimber/S&W Schwartz version?

Im no expert as Ive never owned an 80 or other improved safety versions. So someone please correct me if Im dishing out inaccurate info.

I *Think* there are two ways to go about it.

A) Replace the firing pin and spring with an older GI model without a notch and leave all parts alone.
B) Replace all parts which includes removing rear sight for access to plunger and insert a spacer to keep the sear from "walking".

JTQ
March 21, 2013, 11:03 AM
tarosean wrote,
...S&W Schwartz version
Hi, I'm from the language police.

It is Swartz, not Schwartz. I point this out for those that may be doing a search for firing pin safety information, and it was no doubt somebody's name and I'm sure he (and his descendants) would like to have it spelled correctly.

In addition, S&W uses a Mochak firing pin safety. While also activated/deactivated by the grip safety, like the firing pin safety used by Kimber, the parts are different.

1KPerDay
March 21, 2013, 04:23 PM
Is it just me or are the 80 series parts a PITA?
Only when you take them out and try to put them back in. ;)