Why do law enforcement and civillians carry 147gr 9mm?

PDA

Mr. Ready
March 31, 2013, 01:30 AM
I could be wrong but as far as im aware the 147gr was developed for use with suppressors. 9x19 parabellum is a high velocity round so doesn't making it subsonic kinda defeat its purpose? Ballistics charts i've seen suggest that 125 and 115gr load hit much harder. If somebody is that worried about overpenertration wouldn't they be better off with a round that is subsonic normally?

Im kinda new to shooting and this one is confusing me.

And please none of this "would you want to be hit with it?" crap, i wouldn't want to get hit with a .22 but that doesn't mean i'd trust it to stop an aggressor.

If you enjoyed reading about "Why do law enforcement and civillians carry 147gr 9mm?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
JO JO
March 31, 2013, 01:43 AM
the LE guys I know including local,state,fed have dropped the 9mm and most carry 40 s&w
and a small few 45acp,

KenW.
March 31, 2013, 01:52 AM
My duty ammo is the 124 grain Gold Dot.

Girodin
March 31, 2013, 02:08 AM
Ballistics charts i've seen suggest that 125 and 115gr load hit much harder.

I take it by "hit much harder" you mean to say produce more energy at the muzzle or a given distance? What is the difference. The energy differences probably are not really that notable. Its probably more valuable to look at a loads propensity for 1) reliable penetration 2) expansion of the bullet and depending on circumstance 3) performance with regard to barriers.

There is much more that goes into terminal ballistics than muzzle energy. IMHO there are likely to be much more meaningful variables than what are often relatively paltry differences in energy.

RevolvingGarbage
March 31, 2013, 02:15 AM