Trimming weirdness: RCBS Trim Pro


PDA






1KPerDay
April 1, 2013, 02:13 PM
I trimmed a few dozen HXP to 2.485" or so a year ago, using the Trim Pro with the 3-way cutter.

Put the trimmer away, settings all the same. I pull it out today, trim a couple... 2.457" and 2.461"

:banghead:

I tried to make sure the bases were seated all the way in the collet. the Lock screw on the adjustment collar is still tight. Out of curiosity I remeasured a couple of the HXP I trimmed last year; they measured 2.485" and 2.487".

What gives? :confused:

If you enjoyed reading about "Trimming weirdness: RCBS Trim Pro" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
kelbro
April 1, 2013, 03:42 PM
Sounds like some pants that I have. Hung them in the closet last October, just got them out and the button hole no longer lines up with the button. ;)

Slyy
April 1, 2013, 03:47 PM
Did you make sure the lock screw for the fine adjustment was seriously tight? I noticed my trim pro likes to work its way to shorter case length if I don't have that sucker snugged WAY down.

1KPerDay
April 1, 2013, 03:49 PM
Thought it was but I'll take another look. Btw do I have to scrap the too-short cases?

1KPerDay
April 1, 2013, 03:50 PM
Sounds like some pants that I have. Hung them in the closet last October, just got them out and the button hole no longer lines up with the button.Lol :D

JimKirk
April 1, 2013, 09:28 PM
Look at this link for how I solved this problem .....

If you will pull out the calipers and measure the rim diameter of various cases .... you will find different diameters ... being the collet is drawn back to the diameter of the rim... you will find different lengths.....

http://www.thehighroad.org/showthread.php?p=6326953#post6326953

*I just looked to see tht you have the Pro version ... this probably would not work with yours ... You could turn a 30/06(.473)rim at the base of the pilot and make it work...

1KPerDay
April 2, 2013, 01:04 PM
Think I figured it out.... the black cylindrical housing (the thing that stops the trimming adjustment collar) that's secured to the lower base had worked loose... a bolt secures it from below, so you have to remove all screws from whatever you mounted the trimmer to to tighten the bolt. Kind of a stupid design, IMO. :rolleyes:

JimKirk, mine is the collet setup, not the newfangled lever/whatever setup.

Thanks for all the help.

JimKirk
April 2, 2013, 06:04 PM
I had a few qestions by pm about how the Pilot works ... maybe this will help...

I size and deprime, place the empty primer pocket(brass) on the pilot ...

I just hold the case with my fingers .... if you have problems getting enough grip ...put on one of the rubber coated gloves like they sell at Walmart...

I have the Trimmer mounted to a sectiom of spruce one by six and that is c clamped to the bench ....

I can trim them about as fast as I can remove and replace them on pilot .... a sharper cutter head helps also.

Because you are using the flat of the base of the brass(not the rim) ...it is like turning center to center on a lathe... the cut is always the same ...

If I were using a drill to power the cutter ...I would not use the glove as it can grab and wind your fingers up ...

Kp321
April 3, 2013, 10:16 PM
To answer your last question, you don't need to scrap the short cases if you aren't crimping the bullets.

If you enjoyed reading about "Trimming weirdness: RCBS Trim Pro" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!